This Post Brought to you by Hormones®

I was having a particular rough week when one of my nearest and dearest friends sent me an email that brought tears to my eyes. It was exactly what I needed to hear. (Read?)

I thought if it could make at least one other person feel the way it made me feel, I should share it with all of you.

To the mom who’s breastfeeding: Way to go! It really is an amazing
gift to give your baby, for any amount of time that you can manage!
You’re a good mom.

To the mom who’s formula feeding: Isn’t science amazing? To think
there was a time when a baby with a mother who couldn’t produce enough
would suffer, but now? Better living through chemistry! You’re a good
mom.

To the cloth diapering mom: Fluffy bums are the cutest, and so
friendly on the bank account. You’re a good mom.

To the disposable diapering mom: Damn those things hold a lot, and
it’s excellent to not worry about leakage and laundry! You’re a good
mom.

To the mom who stays home: I can imagine it isn’t easy doing what you
do, but to spend those precious years with your babies must be
amazing. You’re a good mom.

To the mom who works: It’s wonderful that you’re sticking to your
career, you’re a positive role model for your children in so many
ways, it’s fantastic. You’re a good mom.

To the mom who had to feed her kids from the drive thru all week
because you’re too worn out to cook or go grocery shopping: You’re
feeding your kids, and hey, I bet they aren’t complaining! Sometimes
sanity can indeed be found in a red box with a big yellow M on it.
You’re a good mom.

To the mom who gave her kids a homecooked breakfast lunch and dinner
for the past week: Excellent! Good nutrition is important, and they’re
learning to enjoy healthy foods at an early age for the rest of their
lives. You’re a good mom.

To the mom with the kids who are sitting quietly and using their
manners in the fancy restaurant: Kudos, it takes a lot to maintain
order with children in a place where they can’t run around. You’re a
good mom.

To the mom with the toddler having a meltdown in the cereal aisle:
they always seem to pick the most embarrassing places to lose their
minds don’t they? We’ve all been through it. You’re a good mom.

To the moms who judge other moms for ANY of the above? Glass houses,
friend. Glass houses

I don’t know where this originated — if anyone knows who to credit this to, please let me know. Otherwise, just let it sink in. I hope it made one of you as happy as it made me.

xoxo

2 thoughts on “This Post Brought to you by Hormones®

  1. Awesome….as a mom who attempted to breastfeed both children and failed miserably two times….as a mom who had to work full-time with child #1, then stayed home for a couple years with child #2…. as a mom who didn’t have enough sanity to even “try” cloth diapers…. as a mom who utilizes both drive through AND home-cooked meals depending on the schedule du jour…. as a mom who had child #1 that listened to everything, and child #2 who pushed his limits on a daily basis (even now, 14 yrs later)…..I’m a good mom. I didn’t always know or remember that in the thick of things, but as I watch child #1 graduate next week and go off to college in the Fall, as I watch child #2 enter high school in the Fall…..I’m a good mom. They are both happy (except for the teenage angst thing, which I can’t fix for them), they are both healthy, they have all their digits and appendages, somehow we’ve scraped by with no broken bones (no judgment to those whose children have had broken bones, b/c I don’t know how we’ve done that & we still have 4 yrs of high school left for child #2, who is a boy, who plays soccer, nuff said), we have had a few head staples (child #2), we’ve had a horrible encounter with scissors and hair-cutting (child #1 – and right before Christmas pictures – she ended up with a mullet). I’M A GOOD MOM!!! AND SO ARE YOU!!!!! Maybe you need to look in a mirror every day and repeat that three times!! It’s so easy to forget and so easy to question. This is a quote from a very wise woman. She’s my Pastor’s wife, the mother of 4 girls all under the age of 5 (well, the oldest will soon turn 6 and the youngest turns 1 in Nov)….”It’s going to be okay. And if it’s isn’t okay………..it’s going to be okay.”

Tell me what you think:

