Hi Ho Hi Ho

It’s off to work I go. And if you’re saying hello back then you just let me call you a ho.

Yes, I returned to work last week. And I know you’re probably waiting for me to say it was terrible, and I cried for hours, and I couldn’t tear myself away from Rose. 

rose

Well. I could say that but I would by lying.

Before you go thinking I’m a terrible mother, I had a few good reasons why my first week back was actually pretty awesome.

1. My mom came to stay the week with Rose. It was awesome. Leaving her in the morning was made easy because GIGI WAS HERE. Rose was happy which means I was happy. Easy as that. No tears even! Admittedly, I had to leave swiftly Monday morning before the waterworks started, but I nipped them in the bud and it actually felt fantastic to get out of the house.

2. Before returning to work I was able to get a part-time schedule worked out with my manager and the owners of the business. To say that I feel lucky is the understatement of the year. To be so supported by my coworkers and managers made me even more excited to get back. They’re like a second family to me. ❤

3. I was welcomed back by a kajillion hidden Tobias Fünkes and Wendy’s Chicken Nuggets… two things I love. It’s like an easter egg hunt at my desk. They’re hidden in every nook and cranny and every few hours I seem to find another one.

blogger-image-239645101 IMG_0329 IMG_0330 IMG_0331 IMG_0333 IMG_0334

A side note about the lamp shade Tobias: he’s only visible when the lamp is on. TOTAL BONUS. 

4. So many of my friends sent me encouraging emails, texts, and facebook messages, wishing me good luck on my first day back. Some of them moms themselves (which, total props to you for even knowing what day of the week it is) and some non-moms who are just caring enough to know what a big deal it is for a new mother to return to work.

I’ve heard the saying “If you put good out into the world you will have the good returned.” I’m not sure if I deserve all of the incredible people in my life, but it sure does feel pretty damn amazing. My heart is full of love and I’m so grateful for every single one of you.

My life is starting to feel a bit more normal now. I know. Who would’ve thunk it? Returning to work actually makes me feel MORE sane. The 22-year-old me doesn’t even know the 31-year-old me. Young Mo, meet oldish-mother-Mo. Happy to return to work and grateful to clean poop and wipe dribbled milk a few days a week, too.

Young Mo just rolled her eyes and took a shot of something that could spontaneously combust.

I may have a different perspective on things this coming week; I will dropping Rose off at daycare for the first time. My eyes well with mini tears just typing that. I’ll let you know how it goes.

2 thoughts on “Hi Ho Hi Ho

  1. Young Mo is also pleading that you never take Rose on an airplane (I remember Young Mo well).

    I’m glad you had a good transition. Having Gigi there makes all the difference. Dad took time off work to spend the first three days with Babybit, which made it SOO MUCH EASIER.

    It’s nice to have a little balance back in your life. It doesn’t mean some days aren’t harder than others, but I’ll help you keep the guilt in check!!

Tell me what you think:

