For All The Moms-to-be: Part Two

baby_dontneeds

After a friend of mine mentioned in the comments yesterday that it’s worth mentioning the products you DON’T need, I figured I’d throw together another list. Just call me Listy McListerson. I do love my lists. You should know this by now.

DISCLAIMER: I’m not trying to hurt feelings. If you have money up the wazoo, then by all means, buy whatever you need to make life easier — I don’t blame you! This list is for those of you trying to go easy on your wallet during the whole getting-ready-for-baby process.  

Ahem.

With that said, these are the baby products I’m glad I didn’t waste our precious resources on:

01_numbers_dontneeds

Rose never even flinched when I used a room-temperature wipe. If your baby is a little more Princess and the Pea you can hold the wipe between your hands for a few seconds to warm it up.

02_numbers_dontneeds

If you’re planning on having your baby in the room with you for the first few months you’ll need to put him somewhere (unless your co-sleeping, in which case ignore this one). We already had a Chicco Playard, which comes with a built-in bassinet.

lullaby-lx-playard

You see that white, hanging, flat surface? That’s the bassinet. It’s high so your baby is easily accessible, and it’s probably something you’re already planning on getting. (And like I mentioned yesterday, sometimes Rose even sleeps in her Rock N Play.)

03_numbers_dontneeds

I heard all these horror stories about babies who scratch their faces and get permanent scars and who are probably damaged for life. Who knows. Maybe it happens. But it didn’t happen to Rose. As long as I keep her nails trimmed down she stays scratch free. Every once in awhile she’ll get a small dot of a scratch and it literally heals in a few hours. They’re resilient, those babies.

Though, I’m sure the wine I drink has miraculous healing powers. I hear $5 a bottle wine does that.

No hate mail, please. 

04_numbers_dontneeds

It’s so temping. I hear you. I mean, I was obsessed with this sweater my parents got us.

32_dresser

It’s just not practical. Until babies are sitting up on their own they can’t really pull off any fashionable clothing. In fact, they’re probably just really uncomfortable and cursing you silently in their own little baby language. And you thought she was cooing.

And while we’re on the subject — you don’t need NEW clothes. Once Upon a Child and Goodwill have some really cute treasures! People told me how quickly they grow out of their clothes and I didn’t listen. CLEAN OUT YOUR EARS. You know that adorable dress you bought for $35? Well, she’s going to wear it once. Congratulations.

I have so many clothes for Rose and we had her in a rotation of the only four onesies that fit her. (She’s really tiny!) That’s the other thing, you have no idea what’s going to fit.

Also? AVOID BUTTONS LIKE THE PLAGUE. Snaps are fine, zippers are better, but FOR THE LOVE OF EVERYTHING HOLY. Don’t go buying anything with buttons.

05_numbers_dontneeds

“You don’t need it.” — straight from the words of our pediatrician. It’s expensive and according to Steve it smells like urinal cakes. It’s a total load of BS, which I totally bought into. I’m willing to admit it. NEVER AGAIN.

You’re totally fine using gentle detergent without dyes and fragrances and all that jazz. Which you really shouldn’t use anyway because it’s offense to some people (some people being me). And while we’re ranting, please discontinue the use of perfume for the improvement of the global population.

06_numbers_dontneeds

You do NOT need $200 crib sheets. There are people out there who buy them and I wish I were lying. It’s a crime against humanity. We found $12 sheets at BuyBuyBaby (made with organic cotton if you’re into that sorta thing) and they’re as soft as a… well. A baby’s bottom.

Literally all you need is two sets of soft sheets. Maaaybe a waterproof crib cover if you’re feeling fancy.

I mean, if $200 crib sheets changed diapers and cleaned spit-up I’d be all for them.

07_numbers_dontneeds

Last time I checked babies couldn’t walk. Socks are more comfy anyway.

That’s really all I have to say about that.

08_numbers_dontneeds

This one is probably debatable. I’ve heard some people use them and they love them — so if you’re one of those people, more power to ya. We don’t have one, so I can’t really say how awesome they are.

What I can say, is I heat up water in glass measuring cup for about a minute thirty. Then I dunk the bottle in the hot water for about 2 minutes. Easy as that.

bottle

Rose isn’t particularly particular about the temperature of her milk — thank the milk gods. As long as the chill is taken off she seems happy.

09_numbers_dontneeds

The last thing we need in this world is a bunch of changing tables floating around in the ocean. I highly recommend getting a dresser you love, that your baby can use as he gets older. Just throw a changing pad topper on that bad boy.

Once he outgrows the changing topper he can rock that dresser in his big boy room.

31_dresser

(We did end up putting a non-slip rug pad under the changing topper. It slid around like crazy and totally freaked me out. The non-slip pad works like a charm.)

(Also? Drawer dividers are my most favorite inventions. Totally worth the money in my opinion. I got those at The Container Store, but Target also has them.)

10_numbers_dontneeds

When I was pregnant I wanted to own all my own stuff. There’s that nurturing, nesting feeling coming from your stupid brain, telling you that you need to go and buy all the things.

You don’t.

The Moby Wrap I “have” is just borrowed from a friend. When she ends up having a second a baby it’ll go back to her, along with a few things that Rose has outgrown that she can repurpose. And then when (If? No, when. Ok, maybe.) we have a second baby, those products will find their way back to us.

Babies grow so fast, so if you can get a group of your closest friends together to share big ticket items, you’ll save tons of money.

Did I miss anything? Are you cursing my name because you love your wipe warmer? Do tell.

Check out my 10 newborn must-haves! 

9 thoughts on “For All The Moms-to-be: Part Two

  1. Good for you! I love the dresser idea especially and I think that’s all they used “in the old days” … some even used a drawer for the baby’s crib. But, I always heard that shoes helped formed the baby’s feet … ?

  2. I love that you made this list! The Hubs and I have been talking more and more about starting our own family and I love to read the “must haves”, but it was really nice to finally find a “do not HAVE to have”. Now I can show the Hubs… he’s the paranoid one. LOL

  3. The only caveat I would add is regarding the shoes. In the winter/spring socks aren’t enough to keep the tootsies warm when running around. You can find these cute booties and soft soled shoes that do the job of keeping the toes warm as you pull the babe in and out of the carseat and pass her around to friends. I will say that around 12-18 months they stop growing as fast and suddenly I noticed I need more than 4 or 5 outfits for the rotation.

  4. Loved the must have list and I love this list too!! I am all about the hand-me-down and it makes my heart go pitter-patter thinking about our son arriving and rocking a closet full of hand me downs, and a dresser we found on the side of the road (I freshened it up, I promise). All that savings left us with the moo-lah to get the fancy breast pump and a closet organizational system I am swooning over. Boob pump and clean closet > new clothes and expensive furniture. IMO 😀

  5. I just want to thank you for these posts!! I will be referring to them shortly since my DH and I are expecting our first LO in October 🙂 I found you on Pinterest and love all of your DIY projects..especially your sense of humor. Thanks again!

  6. Love the post! All great advice. My only objection is the wipe warmer. But then again, you have a little girl. Yes, you know what I’m about to say about boys… They pee on you. All the time. And find it hilarious. Mom? Not so much.
    Anyway, I too thought there was no way my tough little man needs a sissy wipe warmer. Then a friend mentioned that it had cut down dramatically on how many “accidents” they had while changing their son as a baby. Tired of watching my little man hose down the wall, the changing pad, his outfit, or his mother, I totally caved. And holy crappers. They were right. Something about the warm wipes seems to soothe the shock of the cold air. I feel like we need one of those workplace “3 months accident free” signs. Two thumbs way up on the wipe warmer from this momma!

      • Just stumbled across this so I’m a little late, but ditto on the wipe warmer being a necessity for boys! Also I think it depends on where you live, the dead of winter in the midwest, room temperature wipes can be pretty shocking to the system.

Tell me what you think:

