Turtle or Tortoise, or Whatever

What I mean to say is that slow and steady wins the race, right? We’re ever-so-slowly starting to make some small home updates. I took a slew of pictures to share with you guys and I remembered how much I love photographing non-babies. Don’t get me wrong, taking pictures of Rose is like my number one hobby, but walking around the house with a camera with just the right light makes me feel squishy and marvelous.

Speaking of just the right light… our gallery wall lights up like a firecracker in the evenings. It’s probably terrible for our artwork, but good for the soul. And that’s what’s important.

01_updates

We used to have these exact Mallard bookends when I was a kid. I longed for them, but alas my mom had given them away years ago. She found these in a Goodwill and knew it would be the easiest $4 she’d ever spend. Thanks Mom. 🙂

I’m in love with them. I have a thing for ducks. And for brass. So.

02_updates

These roses were leftover from our open house last weekend at Steve’s parent’s house. They’re still alive and kicking and remind me how much I love having fresh flowers in the house.

03_updates

New plant! (Crazy plant lady, here. Did you forget about me?) I managed to sneak this guy in without Steve being the wiser. He had no idea I added a new addition to our family until I casually brought it up one day. One important nugget of information he did notice? His golden skull was moved. He feels a little shafted by the brass ducks, but he’s licking his wounds and recovering.

04_updates

We hung our sconces by the temple rubbing in the master bedroom over the weekend. It gives the room a nice romantic glow. But not for baby making. I’m so over making babies — don’t you go getting any ideas about another addition to this family. Except for plants. Plant babies are always welcome.

05_updates 06_updates

During our South Haven vacation last summer, we found these window panes at a vintage shop in the downtown area. I’ve been holding onto them, planning on hanging them in our bathroom. Well, it finally happened.

07_updates

The plan: I want to paint a sort of abstract / gradient-rich watercolor of an ocean landscape to hang behind the glass. It’ll hopefully give the allusion that we’re living somewhere fabulous. Our little getaway.

As I was touring my own home, I realized I never showed you the cross-stitch that took TWO WEEKS because it included the then-secret name of our baby duckling.

08_updates

Yes. Two weeks. Rose will be in college and will still have to hear about that one time when I developed early arthritis because it took me TWO WEEKS to cross-stitch her name. I also made the pattern myself. And then I ate that delicious chip off my shoulder.

I mentioned this mobile a few days ago, but never showed you Rose’s view. Can’t you see why she’s always so engaged?

09_updates

The high-contrast geometric shapes are perfect for her level of vision, and the links make it the perfect distance from her face. And it was only twenty bucks. I wish more companies made simple, inexpensive, and engaging baby toys.

So those are the updates. Slow and steady, people. Think turtles.

4 thoughts on “Turtle or Tortoise, or Whatever

  1. I find it kind of funny that my comments are on two things you didn’t mention. 1. from one crazy plant lady to another, your orchid is beautiful. 2. I love the chandelier in the bathroom.

Tell me what you think:

