The “C” Word

No. Not that one. Who do you think I am? I’m a mother now, I’ll have you know.

I’m talking about the other dreaded “C” word.

COLIC. 

Cue dramatic music.

To be completely honest I have to warn you that I’m not entirely sure what I’m typing right now. Do you know why? Because I’m more sleep deprived than I was in college when I was partying all the time studying for exams and doing all my homework.

Rose cries at least 3 hours every day. Cries? It’s really more like a scream. I thought things had gotten better once we had her all hopped up on her reflux meds, but no such luck. (And please. Spare me your ideology on newborns and medication. Unless, of course, you’re offering your babysitting services!!!) She’s spitting up a lot less and is generally eating better. But the crying? Yeah. There’s still lots of that.

Exhibit A:

That. For three hours. Always in the evenings when we’re both the most tired and just want to go to sleep ourselves. A few times we’ve had to put her in her crib and just shut the door for 10 minutes to regain our strength. AND THAT’S OK. If you’re a mom, and your baby has colic, you do what you gotta do to not Google “How do I sell my baby on the Black Market?”

Don’t check my browsing history.

This is my punishment for my textbook delivery. It was too easy. I knew it was going to come back and bite me. Karma is, what do they say? A bitch. Yes. She is a horrible, horrible, bitch.

So life is kinda stressful right now. But every once in a while the clouds part, the sun shines through, and we see a magnificent rainbow.

Exhibit B:

I MEAN COME ON. Mother Nature had to make babies cute for at least 3% of the time. I’m pretty sure humans don’t eat their offspring and this has GOTTA be why.

She melts my heart. One smile like that, with her looking directly into my eyes, whisks me away to a place where babies don’t cry and everything is soft and warm and fuzzy. And booze pours from golden fountains. And a shirtless Ryan Gosling gives me foot massages.

All this to say: If you’re a mom, and you’re reading this blog, and your baby cries ALL THE TIME… you are not alone, my friend. It’s okay to be scared, and mad, and frustrated, and worried all at the same time. From what I hear it gets better. I’ll report back. If I’m not back in 2 monts — send for help.

Crap. Did I just turn into a Mommy Blogger?

10 thoughts on “The “C” Word

  1. I’m not sure how I happened upon your blog but I’ve been following for a few months now. I just read your post about colic and as a mother of a baby that cried/screamed the first 6 months of her life I want to tell you – nay, promise you – that it does get better. I will never in my life forget the guilt, anger, frustration, and sadness that came with having a baby like that (especially as the first!) but if I had known then what my daughter (now 3) would turn into, I would have gritted my teeth a little harder, left her alone in her crib a little longer, and allowed myself to ease up on my own self (because of course I assumed it was something I did. Or didn’t do. Or it was that beer I had when I didn’t even know I was pregnant).

    My daughter is smart, sweet, polite, and stubborn. She has a great sense of humor and can light up a room when she walks in. She can throw a mean tantrum but what woman hasn’t developed that skill early on?

    My best advice is to be willing to ask for help and be willing to take it when offered. Oh, and don’t take advice from strangers (myself excluded) who like to suggest: putting her on a schedule, burping her longer, formula feeding, breastfeeding, bouncing, medicating, not medicating, yadda yadda yadda. Do whatever it takes to get yourself through it however it works for you. I promise you will come out on the other side and it’s going to be amazing.

    And not that you’re thinking about it yet but just so you know, I did have another baby and she was nothing like her sister. 🙂

  2. I was going to write down the exact same thing as JD! My daughter was exactly like Rose and gosh… I remember being so sleep deprived! But as JD says, maybe I should have gritted my teeth and left her longer in her cot and not respond to her demands straight away… And maybe sit on the sofa with her and not do anything, just cuddles…
    I had another baby and it was nothing like that second time around!
    My only advice, if you feel like you can’t take it anymore, put her in her bed and don’t feel guilty to go outside for a few minutes… and breathe!

  3. I happened on your blog via pinterest I think… but I love it. I do not have children but will tell you that just caring as much as you do means you are doing the right thing! Keep up the good work, I love your blog and the advice from JD seems right on. Also let go of guilt like carole suggested… this too shall pass and Rose will be an amazing woman just like her parents 🙂

  4. the best thing i ever did was put my son in his car seat and put the car seat on top of the dryer and turn the dryer on …helped him and me every time! He’s 39 now and i’ve had to tell his wife to do this to him when he gets outta control…don’t know if she has yet.

  5. Hi,

    Sorry to hear about the colic. My cousin just went through the same thing with her baby girl and I know putting a wedge in the crib helped a lot. You’re are probably already doing that but if not try it. Also, as a biologist I can tell you a lot of research has come out showing that how we deal with acid reflux is all wrong. We usually try to neutralize the acidity when in fact now studies show if we can actually increase the hydrochloric acid. I’m not sure how you can increase the stomach acid of an infant but maybe talk to your doc about it. Just a thought.

  6. As a mother of who had so easy on the first that I preceded to have another 4 years later, this too shall pass. My youngest made me pay for all the things the eldest did not do. My youngest is now 19 and she does not remember me putting her on top of the washer so she would stop crying. Imagine that! I did have the least amount of dirty clothes in the neighborhood. It was the only thing that sooth her colic. You are doing wonderful. If you have not eaten your young, you are doing it right.

Tell me what you think:

