Happy One Year Anniversary, House

Dear House,

One year ago today my lumberjack and I got all up inside you. Oh, is that weird? Well, you should be used to weird by now; we’ve known each other for a whopping 365 days. It’s hard for me to believe that we’ve been taking care of each other for an entire year–you look mighty fine for your age, you know that?

Thank you for letting us turn you into our home. We’ve spent many hours, days, and long nights ripping you apart and putting you back together again. You’ve taken good care of us, and I think it’s safe to say our love for each other is mutual. Even though there are still many projects on the horizon, we couldn’t be happier with our year’s worth of progress.

Thanks for keeping us safe, and for keeping us busy. We certainly do love you.

Now, onto the pictures! I thought it would be fun to see how the house has evolved over the last year–who doesn’t love a little side-by-side comparison?

Garage door entrance: move-in day
Garage door entrance: now

Laundry room / half-bath: move-in day
Laundry room / half-bath: now (Click here to see the whole transformation)
Kitchen, view 1: move-in day
Kitchen, view 1: now
Kitchen, view 2: move-in day
Kitchen, view 2: now
Kitchen, view 3: move-in day
Kitchen, view 3: now
Kitchen, view 4: move-in day
Kitchen, view 4: now

Family room, view 1: move-in day
Family room, view 1: now
Family room, view 2: move-in day
Family room, view 2: now
View from the loft: move-in day
View from the loft: now
Nursery: move-in day
Nursery: now (click here for the full tour of the nursery)
Guest room: move-in day
Guest room: now (still very much a hodge-podge)
Guest bathroom: move-in day
Guest bathroom: now
Master bedroom: move-in day
Master bedroom: now
Master bathroom: move-in day
Master bathroom: now

Whew. It’s been quite a productive year, and like I said before, there are still some fun projects on the horizon. In terms of the house, the next few challenges are going to be finishing the guest room, and the master suite (bedroom + bathroom). In terms of my life? I think having our little girl is going to keep us pretty busy. The year ahead is going to be filled with new experiences and learning new things, and I can’t wait to spend it in our home.

Thanks for keeping up with us for the last year! It’s been a wild ride.

10 thoughts on “Happy One Year Anniversary, House

  1. So much horrible wallpaper when you moved in! It’s so gloriously light and fresh and tidy-looking now, do you manage to keep it that picture-perfect all the time?

    • I would say that the house is normally pretty “tidy”, but I’m fully aware that will change once we have the baby. I just can’t relax unless things are picked up. But I’ll be the first one to tell you that a layer of dust on all surfaces doesn’t bother me at all!! I am definitely more tidy than clean.

  2. You are make me SO excited to buy a house! I think the boyfriend and I are still a few years out, we both want to wait until I finish my master’s and get a “big kid job” before settling anywhere, but your posts always make me so giddy to own our own place and make it ours, instead of dingy old apartments we can’t personalize. Thank you for letting me live vicariously through you!!
    -Karly

Tell me what you think:

