The Baby Girl’s Nursery (with Source List)

Welp. It’s that time! The time where I show you all of our hard work from weeks and weeks of painting, sanding, spackling, curating, hanging, and creating. Our little girl’s abode is finally complete.

Kinda.

We still have to refinish the dresser, so politely ignore the unfinishedness of it. Also, my baby shower isn’t for another month so the room doesn’t yet house all of the baby accessories. I’ll probably do another “final” shoot of the room when it’s officially finished.

Until then, I thought why not just snap a few pics for the good folks in the internet.

For starters, let’s see where this room was when we moved in:

And here is where we are now–all ready for our baby girl:

Don’t get too excited about that letter on the wall, you little detective, you. We’re 97.999% sure what The Alien’s first name will be, but we’re 100% sure what her middle name will be: Rebecca. It was mine before I got married, so we were excited to pass it down to our daughter, and keep it in the family. Once we have her first name solidified we’ll add that initial on that wall, along with an “H” for Harpster.

I’ll be posting a tutorial on how I made that “R” very soon!

Yes, that is a baby picture of yours truly; Steve’s baby picture will soon be making an appearance in the room–his mom is finding the perfect one. The yellow chevron fabric was leftover from an old project, and the vintage botanical print was downloaded for free from here.

The changing pad will fit snug as a bug on top of the dresser, and our little nugget can gaze lovingly at the wooden bird mobile while she makes “HA HA I’M FARTING” faces.

I love the purple-ish pink ottoman, and the femininity it adds to the room. It’s just scrumptious. Also? Those rich, golden tones in the rug make me want to rub my face all over it.

I love that we can swap out framed art and pictures on the book ledges. This room will definitely grow with our little girl.

I’m sure these baskets will try their very hardest to corral toys. I’m also sure that most of the time they’ll probably be laying face down, their contents spewed across the room. Messy room = happy kid. I am trying deep breaths and therapy to get used to the idea.

The bunting height can be adjusted once she sprouts those long ape arms that we’re certain she’ll have. I love the flexibility of the decor in this room.

It’s hard for me to believe that we’re so close to being done with this room. I have spent so many days and nights trying to imagine what it was going to look like, and here it is. Neither of us can wait to have her here; we can’t wait to read books to her, sprawl out on the floor with toys and blankets, and get a whiff of her baby-scented skin every time we go in for a smooch on her cheeks.

I hope you enjoyed the tour! For any mothers-to-be planning a nursery of your own I’ve included a source list at the bottom of this post. Let me know if any of the links are broken–as I want to give credit where credit is due.

Thanks for all of the kind and supporting words–I do read every single one of them. You guys are seriously the best.

Source List:
Dresser – Hand-me-down from Steve’s Grandma
Mirror – Local antique shop
Bird mobile – petitcollage on Etsy
Collage frames – Target
Diaper basket – Hobby Lobby
“R” – DIYed
Rug –ย  HomeGoods
Planter – Old Time Pottery
Curtains – Target
Apple poster – Fine Little Day
Bunting banners – DIYed
Crib – SimplyBabyFurniture.com
Crib skirt – DIYed
Lamp – Mix ‘n matched from Target
Accent table – Target
Blue rocking chair – Hand-me-down from Steve’s Grandma
Ottoman – Overstock
Owl stuffed animal – Pier1
Hippo artwork – Twoems on Etsy
Book ledges – DIYed
“You Are Loved” artwork – thewheatfield on Etsy
Small metal shelf – Craigslist
Baskets on shelf – Ikea
Frog lamp – Goodwill
Books – Antique shops + mine, from childhood
Stuffed Animals – Mine, from childhood
Wall color – No-VOC Sherwin Williams color-matched to BEHRs โ€œRhinoโ€

16 thoughts on “The Baby Girl’s Nursery (with Source List)

  1. I pretty much am in love with the room! Your print selections are always top notch! I love that for the most part, it doesn’t look like a nursery, except for few key things of course. But it also seems cozy. You are certainly right that it can grow with her! Can’t wait to find out her name and see those pictures!

  2. I love it. I love that it is a CHILDS room opposed to a ‘girls room. I suppose it will become all pinky and girly and such as baby grows and starts making demands of wanting to a Princess ect. but for now I think you did a fab job and i think Baby you and dad will spend happy times in there

  3. This is such an amazing nursery! It has so much personality, and your little girl is definitely going to feel loved! ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. OH.MY.GOSH! I have been following your blog since you announced your pregnancy and have been reading the updates on your nursery progress and WOW! I.love.everything.about.it. !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! And call me crazy but I actually kind of like the dresser how it is now, unfinished and all. Love love love this nursery!! Fantastic job!!!!!

    • Thank you so much! It’s so awesome to finally share it with everyone. That unfinished dresser is looking better and better these days ๐Ÿ˜‰

  5. LOVE IT! I just discovered you on pinterest last night and saw your wedding post. Great job with the details and personal touches. Today I decided to check back & what a treat….I discover your no cords post that i must share w/my hubby for our tv & tbe nursery pics. Congrats on becoming a mom very soon! You are so talented and creative. I look forward to seeing more. Thx for sharing!

  6. I love it, it’s so classy and so not a cliche. The bunting is beautiful, I love how simple to make it is, I may have to try this myself!

  7. Ok, it took me a while to read this post since I’ve been battling my own morning, or should I say, ALL DAY sickness (yay!) but seriously, you two did an absolute beautiful job in that room. It is such an inspiration! It’s the most sophisticated nursery I’ve ever seen…I’ll be checking back to reference your source list for our own little sea monkey’s nursery. โค Thanks so much for sharing!

  8. Pingback: Happy One Year Anniversary, House | The Harpster Home

  9. Pingback: A Dresser Makeover – From Rough to Refined | The Harpster Home

  10. And nonetheless, on their blogs and revealed posts, they generalize that the offshore Search
    engine optimisation organizations are incompetent! If it does not, he is
    probable move to the upcoming internet site.
    Off-webpage optimization is just one of the most vital factors for ranking
    your web site.

Tell me what you think:

