Midland to the Rescue

Notice anything different about this picture?

Uh huh. That’s right. NEW NIGHTSTANDS! I can’t tell you how excited I was to replace our ugly blue ones the ones we worked hard to paint, but in the end, didn’t love.

Here’s a close-up of our new Midland treasures:

The shape of them is perfect. We really needed longer nightstands to help fill in the humongous wall that anchors our bed. For reasons I’m unsure of, they were only $40 a piece and in near-perfect, mid-century condition. How is that even possible? The same seller had another set of mid-century nightstands in his booth that were going for $600. I didn’t ask questions. I just licked every square inch to claim my territory and had a nice young man from the front counter wheel them to the register.

I still need to figure out the bedding/pillow situation. The mustard coverlet is staying, but we’re in dire need of some sort of pillow and layering action. With colors. And textures! Also, I need to pick out a paint color for those brass lamps.

I swear to you I don’t pose Olive. She just loves to be in front of the camera and follows it around; she’s a natural. Sometimes I do try to cover her with stuff though. Unfortunately for me, and luckily for her, the coverlet wasn’t quite long enough to make a full hat.

If you’re wondering what’s to become of the blue nightstands, they’re just getting moved to the guest room. They actually look quite at home in there and don’t seem to mind the switch-up. Don’t tell them I said this, but they’re more on the Guest Room level rather than the front stage that is the Master Bedroom, anyway.

I’m in love. The bedroom has come a long way from when we first moved in:

We still have a ways to go, but I feel there has been some major progress over the year.

This post is dedicated to my mom, who is the one that spotted our beautiful new pieces of mid-century goodness. I recommend taking her shopping with you — she’s good. She’s really good. But you can’t have her. She’s all mine.

I’ll be back tomorrow with some plant-related updates, and then if all goes according to plan this weekend, next week I’ll be able to show you the book ledges in the nursery. We also had a minor switcheroo in the nursery that forced Steve to question my sanity. More on that next week.

Happy Thursday!

 

10 thoughts on “Midland to the Rescue

  1. So what I I love about the Olive pictures is that I KNOW she wants to be in front of the camera but then manages an exasperated expression like “ok crazy lady, i’ll lay here IF I MUST, but I’m not looking at the camera”. Big huff.

  2. Everything is looking GREAT!
    I love, love, LOVE the length and rich finish of the new night stands, and for that price i would have ridden them to the register like a bull. 🙂

  3. Hi! I found your blog on Pinterest and I love what you write about! Definitely subscribing. I love the layout of your bedroom. The color scheme is perfect, and the three paintings work so well with it all.
    Elise

    • It’s from Crate and Barrel, about two years ago… I sadly don’t think they carry it anymore! Urban Outfitters always has some really good, trendy, affordable options, though.

  4. I love your blog, I’ve been following it for a while now and have been drooling over your bedding also every time I catch a glimpse of it in a post! You have to give us the rundown on where you got it from!

    • It’s from Crate and Barrel, about two years ago… I sadly don’t think they carry it anymore! Urban Outfitters always has some really good, trendy, affordable options, though.

  5. Hello I’m wondering if you can help me? Where did you get your mustard bed cover from? It’s exactly what I want but can’t find it anywhere!
    Thanks

Tell me what you think:

