Book Nerd

We really hope our daughter grows up to be a nerd. A book-loving, glasses-wearing, smart-as-a-whip, out-of-the-box-thinking, lovable, and adorable nerd.

So much of her personality is already forming. So far, she’s a kicker. All day long I feel that girl inside my belly. The only thing we can do to try to shape our little alien into a mini nerd is foster an early appreciation for books and reading.

You can imagine my delight when I saw this on Pinterest: SWOON

I fell in love with it immediately. If there’s one thing I knew we wanted to do in the nursery, it was this. I love how these display ledges showcase the books as artwork, and not only are they readily available for little fingers to grab, but they’re displayed so proudly.

All this to say that this is the project we’re currently working on. I don’t have after pictures yet. I know, I’m such a tease. But I will tell you right now it only looks like we can fit three 6′ shelves. Our nursery isn’t huge, but we still want to make this work. And you know the lumberjack is taking detailed pictures to tutorial the hell out of this project for you.

Until I have pictures to show you of beautiful, white, picture ledges, and while we’re on the subjects of how ridiculously fantastic books are, I thought I’d share my top 10 favorite children’s books from when I was a kid.

In no particular order:

#1 The Giving Tree

#2 Animalia

#3 If you Give a Mouse a Cookie

#4 Where the Sidewalk Ends

#5 Once Upon a Potty

#6 If the Sea were Sweet

#7 Cloudy with a Chance of Meatballs

#8 Serendipity (This is one out of an entire series: BUY THEM ALL. Seriously. They’re worth it. My childhood wouldn’t have been the same without these books. And I still have them!)

#9 The Eleventh Hour (Still one of my all time faves — I still have my original copy)

#10 The Berenstain Bears Series. All of them. Yes, all of them.

And thus concludes my list. These books almost bring tears to my eyes because I remember how much I loved them as a child. I can still vividly remember the first paragraph I read on my own. It was from a Berenstain Bear book, late at night, when I should’ve been asleep.

I hope this was a nice trip down memory lane, and if you haven’t heard of some of these — your mission today is buy them. Buy now, thank me later.

Read on, people. Read on.

7 thoughts on “Book Nerd

  1. I absolutely love the personal library idea, if I ever have kids, that’s definitely what I’m doing! I’m English and don’t think I read any of those books – what a shame more children’s books don’t cross the Atlantic :(. So I thought I’d share with you some of my favourite books as a child, just for fun: http://www.amazon.com/Whatever-Next-Jill-Murphy/dp/0230015476?SubscriptionId=0E73DDYC8NA0NSVWPE82&tag=askville-20&linkCode=xm2&camp=2025&creative=165953&creativeASIN=0230015476 and http://www.amazon.co.uk/Want-My-Potty-Little-Princess/dp/086264965X/ref=sr_1_2?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1349179479&sr=1-2 and for a first novel to get your little girl really reading (when she’s about 7 or 8, a long time in the future I know, but this is a book not to be missed – my copy is falling apart I read it so often: The Bungee venture: http://www.amazon.com/Bunjee-Venture-Stan-McMurtry/dp/0590301624/ref=sr_1_1?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1349179859&sr=1-1&keywords=the+bungee+venture) Enjoy!

  2. Oh, the memories I have of our visits to the Bexley Library!!! From the huge, heavy doors (I think they saved them) to the smell, and wrap-around silence, I loved every minute of it. Mom went to the stacks in the basement, and I was in the children’s section with Beatrix, Horton and all the Whos, cats in hats and all sorts of adventures. My mom taught me to love books and never, ever turn down the pages. Then I found a 100 yr old book at the friends of library sale and inside was a book plate that said: “Read slowly, pronounce perfectly, pause frequently, think seriously. keep cleanly, return duly, with the corners of the leaves not turned down”. I could wax nostalgic about books for hours…thanks for the trip down memory lane!

  3. I recognize a lot of these books from growing up. I just thought I’d share one of my favorite books from when I was a little girl, Doolie And The Snortsnoot by Jack Kent. I’ve been following your blog for a while now, and I think you’ll really like the art style. A quick search on Amazon tells me it seems to be a rare book ($540 for a “good” condition used book? Yikes!), but Jack Kent books are worth keeping an eye out for, apparently if for nothing but an investment. Also, you can’t forget to add in some of the classic Dr. Seuss books, the Lorax, Green Eggs and Ham and the like!

  4. I adore this book list. 🙂 And I have shelves like that for my boys, only on a smaller scale because they are in their closet-turned-book-nook. I will share pictures if you want.

    I also wanted to pop in and tell you that I, too, had the Serendipity series when I was a kid. I even had the audio version. 🙂 My mom says that I read Leo the Lop and Serendipity until they fell apart… and then I got the audio version and listened to them until the tapes warped. Good books indeed, and a set that I have yet to get my children. I shall remedy that soon.

Tell me what you think:

