Cha Cha Cha Changes

So, the gallery wall. It bugged me. You all knew that.

I made a decision that it was the Chicago print that bothered me. Not because I don’t love it — because I do — but because the colors made me want to go all cross-eyed. Also, that big, black frame was too heavy for the centerpiece.

A few little tweaks and I think we have a vast improvement! The first order of business was replacing that frame. I found this oak-ish colored one at the Indy ReStore for $10. Yup. I know. Go ahead and pat me on the back. I deserve it. 10 bucks! It’s pretty and ornate and was only 10 BUCKS!

I was searching high and low on the internet for a print to replace good ole Chicago when it dawned on me that I had a print in my closet that was so meaningful, so special, and so obviously needed to be the center of attention.

I probably didn’t think of it at first because I knew this particular print wasn’t large enough for this spot. But after taping it to a piece of white poster board (matting done on the cheap) it filled up that frame like it had just been waiting his whole life for this opportunity. Like the Olympics. The Picture Frame Olympics. YOU GET A GOLD MEDAL, MY FRIEND.

I’m sitting here with tears in my eyes, like a big ball of pregnant emotional goo, as I explain this to you. One of my dearest friends, like I love this girl so much I can’t explain it (and her totally amazing husband, who we joke about being Steve’s long-lost something. I mean they have to be related. They’re like the same person), got this print for us as a wedding present. So, that is Emotional Cue #1. Emotional Cue #2 is what is on the print. Our first dance was La Vie En Rose by Louis Armstrong, so yeah. Crying. Lots of tears when I opened it back in March. Did her and her husband hit this nail on the head, or what? Kelly, if you’re reading this, thank you. You’ll never know how much this gift means to me.

And it’s so full of letterpress goodness, and it’s textural, and amazing.

I don’t know why it took me so long to figure out that this needed to live here. All that matters is I have finally figured it out. And it’s home.

Did you notice another small change to the gallery wall? If you did you deserve a gold star. Or a cookie.

Our first two ultrasounds are hanging proudly! Man, I can’t wait to meet this little gummy bear.

Also, here’s a never-before-seen picture of the height of this room. I don’t know if I’ve ever actually gotten a picture of this wall before, in all it’s glory. It’s tall one. It allows for a very monsterous Hanukkah Bush. (See Dad? We call our Christmas Tree a Hanukkah Bush, too.)

And here’s an obligatory picture of Olive.

Those eyes. She’s just the saddest happiest dog that ever lived.

Happy Hump Day, everyone! Might I suggest a McDonalds hash brown to start your day? Breakfast of Champions. Or of Pregnant Women Everywhere.

 

 

2 thoughts on “Cha Cha Cha Changes

  1. gosh i ❤ you! super jealous of your home and what you've done with it. totally re-pinning :))) plus you should get a twitter. great wordpress blog.. go self-host it now!! you've got talent!

Tell me what you think:

