My Little Excuse

So, I have a perfectly legitimate reason for why we’ve had a bit of a project slow-down at the Harpster home…

If that’s not a good excuse, I don’t know what is. We’re having a baby! I still can’t believe it sometimes. I keep forgetting that at the end of this pregnancy roller coaster we’re actually going to have a little human being to keep alive. No pressure.

We are over the moon, and of course my parents just about lost their shit when we told them. With me being an only child this baby news sent my mom into a tizzy of curse words, flailing arms, and shrieks, while my dad just sat there trying to figure out what in the world was happening. Typical happenings. My dad is convinced it’s a boy, and every time we have a Doctors appointment he asks if they found a dingaling.

We are definitely going to find out the gender, and that’ll be some time around early September. Until then, guesses welcome! (We all pretty much think it’s a boy — which is so weird that everyone seemed to skew to one gender.)

I really can’t complain about my first trimester – I’ve had zero morning sickness, and my only real symptom has just been debilitating fatigue, (which explains the lack of project motivation) which I’d take in a heartbeat over throwing up and nausea. So for all of my sisters out there who have battled / are battling morning sickness: YOU GO GIRL — I don’t know how you get up for work every morning! I’m sure this baby will pay me back for this easy breezy first trimester with either a terrible labor or in his/her teenage years. As long as s/he doesn’t ever make me listen to Justin Bieber I’ll be grateful.

I’ll keep you guys in the loop, and now that the cat is out of the bag I can start posting some of my ideas for the nursery, and baby-related DIY projects. There’s a whole lot of fun ahead!

I’m so happy to finally be able to share our news. 🙂

PS Do you guys have any idea how adorable Steve is going to be as a dad? I CAN NOT WAIT.

 

 

 

21 thoughts on “My Little Excuse

  1. Congratulations!!!! That’s wonderful news! I hear that women fall in love with their husbands all over again once a baby comes along…it’s like whole new side of your man that you didn’t know existed. Best of luck to you both! Can’t wait to see what you come up with for the nursery!

  2. Oh my goodness! Congratulations!! My sister in law just had her first baby and oh boy are they fun! My hubby and I are going to try starting our family next year. I’m excited but scared!!

  3. Congratulations! Mine are grown and one married now, but I still remember how much I enjoyed being pregnant. I’m a doula in Vancouver, so if you’ve got any questions about the next step, feel free to ask.

  4. I have been following your blog for months, since something I clicked on landed me on a video of your wedding (which was beyond lovely!). Ever since then I have checked your blog every few days (and have read most of your archives) to see the fun improvements you and your husband are doing to your home (I love the laundry room & kitchen wall shelves!). More than anything though, your writing style is just adorable and so funny! I think that’s the biggest reason I tune in often :-). Your pictures and stories about Olive are the BEST!! I am SO PLEASED for you and your husband that you are pregnant with a new little Harpster. That is awesome news! I will continue to follow your blog and l love reading the little tidbits of your happy life with your husband, Olive & (coming soon!) new baby!! My daughter is currently planning her wedding and a happy home of her own, so it’s fun to follow someone who is a few steps in front of her. Best wishes from Spokane, Washington :-).

  5. I am new to your blog, but I wanted to say congratulations! I am expecting my first one month from today. Eep! And my guess at the baby’s sex was right on, so stand strong in your guess!

  6. Congrats!! I’m due on January 13th, so we’re kind of close there! I just bought my first house and while it’s not 100% fix-er-upper, I’m really enjoying your blog and all of your amazing projects! Fire pit will be started soon! 🙂 I hope you continue to feel fabulous!

  7. Totally catching up on your blog – but I’m one of the lucky ones too – no morning sickness and a thus-far easy pregnancy. The hardest part has been avoiding the Taco Bell drive thru as the only thing I want to eat is Nachos Bel Grande (what sober person ever wants to eat that?!). I can’t wait to see all of your projects and decor ideas that you post! I’m getting ready to do the same thing 🙂

Tell me what you think:

