Cords: BE GONE

Today I’m going to show you how Steve managed to be AWESOME by hiding all of our TV cords. He manages to be pretty awesome pretty often, but this time was even more impressive than usual.

I will warn you. This post is going to be a lot of me sounding like I know what I’m talking about. I don’t. I mean, it’s a super simple process, but Steve was the one doing all the work. I just watched and batted my eyelashes, and snapped a few pictures.

Here are the pieces we started with (purchased at Lowes):

After Steve marked where the holes needed to go in the wall it was time to cut them out. NEW TOY ALERT! Dry wall saw…

I have to tell you guys that the tape was my idea. At least I contributed something to this process. We recommend taping the first side you cut so you don’t lose a square of dry wall into the abyss that is your family room wall.

(Sorry about the blurriness. AHEM. ::eyelashes still batting:: I’m still working on a new camera.)

After your hole is cut you just pop these little orange fellas in place. I’m all over the technical terms for this tutorial.

See those arrows? Once you have the plastic piece in there, you flip those little guys down. Once this step is done, go ahead and repeat it for the second hole (AKA the cord exit), which usually falls behind a credenza, or whatever your TV was once sitting on.

After you slip all of your cords through, it’s time for the white cover piece.

Done! Now you’re ready to hang your TV, which should already be done. The whole point of hanging the TV first is so you know where these two white boxes should go. (But then, of course, you have to remove the TV to go through this whole process.)

Look Ma — no cords!

I’ll tell you what: this makes me happier than a hippo with a sandwich. Seeing all of that clean wall space between the TV and the credenza, and then the credenza and the floor is greater than or equal to my wedding day. That’s JUST HOW AWESOME THIS IS. Ok, maaaaybe not greater than… but close.

If you slide open the left cover this is what you’ll see:

See that white arrow? You can sorta see the hole that Steve had to cut in the back of the MINT CONDITION, 1950’S CREDENZA from NORWAY. Gasp! I know. But if it’s not functional in our house, it’s not staying. I know some of you wouldn’t dare cut up a piece of furniture like this, but it’ll be ours forever and ever and it works perfectly now. And I’m not really the “mint condition” kinda girl anyways.

It’s the weirdest thing, but now the family room really feels settled. Just to have the TV tucked away with no cords screaming out for my attention really seals the deal.

What do you guys think? Think you’ll give this a try? If you have any questions feel free to send us an email (info in the “about section) and we’ll (Steve) answer any questions you have.

Hope you enjoyed this! Big Gulps, eh? Welp, see ya later!

Psst! Will you take my two second survey?

23 thoughts on “Cords: BE GONE

  1. OMG, THis looked totally doable! This is normally something I woud be too scared to attempt too. Thanks for the tutorial and GOOD JOB STEVE! By the way, I think your wife needs a new camera….

  2. This looks great, I just have a question about functionality. How do you control the cable box (dvd etc) if it is in the cubby space behind the door? Or do you have to slide the door open each time? You are both extremely talented with the DIY! Keep it up!

    • Good question… we don’t have cable, but to control our media player and/or DVD we just slide the door open. We use the media player most often (that’s how we play pandora and stream netflix on our TV) and it’s to the very left on the top shelf, so the door only has to be open about 3 inches.

  3. You can get an IR repeater to control your stuff when the door is closed. They are cheap and the IR receiver can be hidden anywhere.

    Also, running power cords through a wall is a code violation. Switch the power cord to Romex and put in an outlet at both ends. Then use power cords from outlet to TV and outlet to outlet.

  4. Regardless of whether it’s a code violation or not, it’s awesome!!! My hubby does lots of our electrical work also, but this looks so much nicer and neater. So thank you!!

  5. I hate to sound daft, but where is the plug for the whole magilla? I mean, the power has to come from somewhere, right? Anyhow it looks so clean and just awesome. Cord nests are the bane of my existence at work and this is so…..peaceful.

    • Yeah, was wondering about this too. There has to be a wire from the TV that somehow gets connected to a wall socket. Even if they were connected to an extension plug inside the cabinet, surely the extension still must lead out and connect to the wall socket right?

      • Oops! I guess I didn’t clarify…

        The cords that are behind the wall come into the credenza through a small hole in the back, and then plug into the respective devices (that are also in the credenza). The devices are plugged into a power strip that sits on a shelf inside, and then the power strip goes back out that hole, and plugs into the wall behind the credenza. Hope that helps!

  6. Nice! Could you give us more details about where to get those orange and white plastic holders? What are they called and where can we get them? THanks!

    • They were purchased at Lowes in the electrical section. I’m not sure what they were called, but I’m sure if you explain what you’re doing they could point you in the right direction.

  7. Found your site through Pinterest… had to click the link for hiding cords because my husband and I have almost the EXACT same console setup as you! I also have a cool vintage avocado green velour chair (like yours), AND I’m 22 weeks pregnant! Haha. Though all that was pretty funny 🙂 Wanted to say hello and send greetings from Alaska, looking forward to pics of your nursery!

  8. This looks AMAZING. Does anyone have any tips for brick though? We just mounted the TV on the brick fireplace…. looks very cool, but the cords are driving me mental. Any help would be appreciated!

  9. Pingback: Again on CL, March 21 2013 | Vintage furniture with a modern twist

Tell me what you think:

