Pillow Party

This isn’t just any pillow; it’s one near and dear to my heart. Last time we were at my parents house my dad gave me an old embroidered piece of fabric that his mother used as a pillow. It was falling apart, and needed some love. I got to work on it over the weekend and I couldn’t be more thrilled with how it turned out.

The first thing I had to do was remove the rotting fabric from the back, and cut out a new piece of material for the new backing.

Isn’t that embroidery work gorgeous? I loved the colors immediately and thought it would be a perfect fit in our home.

Once I had the piece cut and the two pieces pinned together I thought it would be a good idea for me to draw where I needed to sew, since the seem needed to be in such a particular spot. It was easy to trace because of the raised embroidery.

I did that all the way around the border.

Ok, so after the pillow was all sewn up and stuffed, it was time to hand-sew the small hole on the fourth side shut.

I have a trick for you. A very scientific trick with expensive and complicated tools.

Just kidding! All you need is a binder clip.

Using a binder clip to hold the fabric together as you hand sew the open seem makes life so much easier. I think the first time I tried to sew a pillow shut I desperately wanted to be one of those Hindu gods with multiple arms and hands. Can you imagine how much you could done with all of those extra appendages?

Alas, I could not grow extras — I tried — so I devised this binder-clip trick.

Works like a charm every time!

Isn’t that old, green chair the perfect spot for this pillow? It makes me feel all warm and fuzzy knowing that I have something from my grandma. If she were still alive I know she’d be thrilled. If she were still alive she would also be trying to get me to eat something right now. She didn’t know too many words in English, but you better believe one of them was “EAT.”

I love how the hint of turquoise is seen from the back. It’s a nice little “Why hello there, how you doin’?”

That’s the end of our weekend projects! And just in time for a new one. There are tons of garage sales this weekend around my town, so I’m hoping for a few more solid finds. I will, of course, keep you posted.

Hopefully we can started on our night stands tonight! I will be perusing Pinterest for some painted-furniture inspiration. Any links to share with me?

Pst! Here is another one of my pillow-sewing tricks.

 

 

 

7 thoughts on “Pillow Party

  1. Nice job! The fabric you used as the backing couldn’t be any more perfect. I’m guessing the bargello needlepoint was from the 70s.. don’t ask me how I know this. 😀

  2. Thanks so much for this post. I have several of these pillows from my husband’s Latvian grandma. They are all falling apart, and I’ve been wondering how to salvage the fronts. Now I know what to do!

  3. I have found that so many of these beautiful needlework pieces are so frail that I iron a backing on the needlework back to stabilize it so it will last many more years. This is a beautiful piece and I love that it is being treasured.

Tell me what you think:

