Fallen Comrade

It is with great sadness that I tell you all about the passing of a loved one: one of our enormous bradford pear trees was destroyed in a storm last week.

I know. Take all the time you need to soak it in and try to understand. I have already been through all five stages of grief and and only now am I okay to talk about it.

I was at work when the storm hit, and we were all bracing ourselves as it passed through our city. I arrived home about 30 minutes later to discover this as I opened my back door to let Olive out.

WARNING: Extremely graphic and gruesome picture below

Our neighbor came out as I got home and told me it was the scariest thing she’d ever seen. She couldn’t see more than 15 feet from her window because of the wind, and she promptly took cover in her safest interior room. My only way to understand the destruction is to assume it was some sort of freakishly quick and small tornado that ripped a path down our neighborhood. No tornadoes were reported, but I mean, how could wind alone have done this damage?

You can’t tell in the picture below how large our neighbor’s tree was. It was monstrous, and it was completely uprooted.

In all seriousness the street behind us looked like a war scene. We were going to drive down the street to see the damage but there were so many downed trees that the road was completely blocked. Most importantly everyone in our neighborhood is safe and no one was injured. I do believe everyone was quite rattled, though.

Our deck chairs were all over the place and a huge rod holding up our canopy was knocked down.

And if you understood that song reference and have it stuck in your head for the rest of the day: I’m so sorry.

That picture was taken after we reinstalled the canopy rod and set up the chairs again. The canopy had to stay like that until we could buy new bungees to attach it because they all sprung. DO YOU HAVE ANY IDEA HOW CRAZY THAT IS? They were all completely stretched and ruined. I have never seen anything like it.

Luckily we got the canopy all put together again, and with the help of our very awesome neighbors we were able to chainsaw and hack our way through the limbs. Now the tree is stacked in neat little piles of firewood. At least we didn’t have to just haul him away with the rest of his friends; he will live on to serve us in our fire pit. I’m sure he feels pretty good about that. I feel pretty good about that. And it saved us about $300 for a tree removal service. SUCKERS. Those guys are highway robbers! Whatever that means.

Anywho. We do have the porch put together again and I’m going to take some pictures this weekend at our cookout. Yes, that’s right, we’re hosting an all day / all night cookout on Saturday and have friends coming from all over the place. I’m so excited I can hardly stand it!

Also, I promise to show you guys pictures of the credenza next week. Have a fantastic Friday and an even better weekend, everyone!

2 thoughts on “Fallen Comrade

  1. I’m glad you apologized cause I definitely have that song stuck in my head. I had to go back and re-read the caption because I hate missing references, especially to music lol. Just found your blog and I’m excited about it!

  2. I’m so glad you’re okay and I hope Olive wasn’t traumatized! It’s always sad to lose a tree.

    I love your blog and all the wonderful additions to your new home.

Tell me what you think:

