Nice and Slow

I’m back! And I’m going to ease into this nice and slow. Some very exciting things have been happening in my neck of the woods, namely a HUGE office move. I have been in charge of certain parts of the interior decor and design, so my little tushy has been running all over the place. Every night I come home from work and just crash. The dust is starting to settle a bit, so I’m hoping to get back to a more consistent posting schedule. Being a full-time blogger is hard when you’re also a full time creative director! And sadly for all of you, my paying job will always come first. But I’m sure you understand. Mama has to take care of her project babies at work. Although being a blogger doesn’t make me any money, you all sure do make me feel pretty darn good. I have gotten some of the nicest emails and comments recently, and it really does give me hope for humanity. Thank you from the bottom of my stressed out, little heart.

Enough chatter. On to the meat of this post! Or, the flowers, rather.

A few weeks ago (yes, I’ve been admittedly hoarding projects) The Lumberjack and I started some outdoor projects. (I briefly told you about our tree fence… more on that later.) One of the most simple, yet makes-me-so-happy projects was planting some creeping phlox around the mailbox.

They’re not nearly as creepy as they sound. In fact, they’re rather delightful.

Here is what our mailbox looked like before: (Sans address in case there are some lingering creepers.)

I have no idea why those four green plants were planted like that. Strategy, maybe? I am apparently not privy to said strategy. It looks like someone had a few too many cocktails before slipping on the gardening gloves. Don’t drink and garden, people.

I transplanted them, added 4 big bunches of phlox, and some new black mulch. Here’s what it looks like now:

Since this photo they have spruced up and gotten more colorful and full. I’m hoping they creep their little creepy selves all over that bed.

Another before:

And after:

I’ll have to take another set of pictures for you guys right before the blooms fall off for the season. I’m hoping to be charmed by their flowers for another few weeks, but we’ll see. This weather is less than predictable. But at least they’re perennials, so they’ll come back every year to say hello.

Another angle:

Pretty delightful, right? Those creepers sure do make me happy.

Thanks again for being so patient with my sporadic posts (that word will always make me think of the movie Clueless). I hope to reward you with some fun, new projects!

Enjoy the rest of your week, and keep on keepin’ on.

Tell me what you think:

