Wine Wednesday

Wine Wednesday, which serendipitously coincides with Hump Day, is something I’ve completely made up. Obviously. But it’s fun all the same, don’t ya think? There’s nothing like crafting with a little alcohol in your system.

Remember my little succulent slash window display in the master bathroom?

After seeing it all together I decided I wanted to remove the screen and the weird mini blind on the octagonal window. Alas, a project is never that easy; I ran into a teeny privacy issue. The issue being our neighbors could see all of our business. Which isn’t good in the bathroom if you catch my drift. Or Whiff. Whatever. Moving on.

I knew I needed to get some frosty windows up in there. After I removed the cross section I was left with a big ole gaping hole that looked directly into our neighbors screened-in porch.

“HI! Whatcha doing? Sipping on a cocktail — nice! Oh, me? I’m just picking my nose. Don’t mind me.”

I’m sure everyone has their own method for the contact paper application process, but I’ve learned the best way for me is to first make a template. I made mine out of magazine pages; I started with one page up top, and taped as I went around the perimeter.

I was left with a very strange-but-kinda-cool stained-glass window effect.

After I had my template made I poured myself a glass of wine (WINE WEDNESDAY!) and rolled out the frosted paper.

Wouldn’t you know it? My contact paper was just a smidge too short. My on-the-fly problem-solving skillz hinted at some sort of splicing method. So instead of cutting one large piece I cut two, and made sure the cut was in a place where the seam could later be hidden behind the cross bars.

And then I took a sip of wine. Because my husband was at work and I was bored. And drinking wine helps me hone in on my problem-solving skillz, so realistically I just helped myself out of a pickle.

My ADD finally kicked in when I glanced out the window and my eyes landed on our bird feeder. I had to take a picture of this. Excuse this conversation I’m about to have with my mom: MOM! A Mourning Dove was on my feeder! Isn’t that just the strangest thing, since they’re ground feeders, and all? I thought he was pretty brave for trying to wedge himself on the feeder. Oh! Also, I had gold finches for the first time yesterday. Big news in Bird Land.

Ok, back to the window frost. After I had my contact paper cut to fit my window, all I had to do next was get that glass squeaky clean. Wasn’t it a beautiful day?

After peeling the backing off of the contact paper, I started from the top of the window and carefully placed the sticky side of the frosted paper on the glass, working my way down.

After it was in place, the next step was to push all of the tiny air bubbles out with a credit card. No fancy tools needed.

Then I followed the same process with the bottom half of the contact paper. Peal, stick, push out bubbles. It really is that simple. I mean, come on. Anything you can do while drinking should be able to be narrowed down into 3 steps.

BADA BOOM BADA BING

And just like that, I was done. I hung the cross bars back into place, and they lovingly covered up my exposed seam.

Much better, don’t you think?

Now that the screen is gone, light floods the room and sprinkles a little sugar on my succulents.

Our bathroom is lacking decor but I’m okay with that for right now. I’d eventually like to get something up behind the tub, but I am immensely enjoying the light and bright, zen-like bathroom each morning. I love starting off my day in an open, airy, and uncluttered room.

The mini space heater doesn’t hurt, either.

And now I don’t have to worry about turning the corner into the bathroom and immediately regretting deciding to de-robe in the bedroom. I’m sure the teenage neighbor boys are disappointed with our new frosted windows.

Happy Wine Wednesday and Hump Day. I hope you use the both of those to the best of your abilities.

One thought on “Wine Wednesday

Tell me what you think:

