Bird Brains

Oh! Totally unrelated but sorta-actually-kinda-related, the title of this post reminds me of one of my favorite musicians and her album with the same name. It’s pretty awesome and tribal and funky and artistic and original. I’m not really sure how else to describe it. Just promise me if you listen to it you will google one of her live performances. That’s where the gravy is and I promise she will knock your socks off.

Anyway. Back to my blog. BIRDS!!

At the suggestion of my friend Stacie, my mom and I hit up the Exit 76 Antique Mall in Edinburgh, Indiana over the weekend. I was shocked because of the following reasons: it was clean, it didn’t smell bad, it was well-lit, it was organized really well and the booths were all impeccably set up, and it was HUGE. Like, Charlie in Wonka’s chocolate factory huge. If only there would’ve been Oompa Loopmas.

Along with the silver bowl I showed you yesterday I picked up probably my most favorite antique store find EVER: three old-timey prints of flora and fauna (plants and birds for all you non-nerds).

They were destined to live right here in my kitchen. Steve and I had serendipitously just been talking about how our shelves felt a little too light and airy in contrast to the heavy cabinets across the kitchen window. These bird prints and perfectly colored wood-stained frames balance out the kitchen so well now.

I can’t even remember what life was like before these prints. Sad and pathetic, I’m sure.

I love how they have a little bit of science and a little bit of whimsy. They clearly were created specifically to live in our home. I mean, JUST LOOK AT THOSE COLORS. Could they be any more perfect?

They kill me. I died. I am writing this from the afterlife. Turns out there is a special place in the afterlife for people who died from loving birds too much. Lots of old ladies. SHOCKING, I know.

Ok I’m back. I just can’t handle them, though. In all seriousness.

Olive wasn’t overly impressed. I mean, she gave them the sniff test and I’m assuming they passed. Nothing really ever doesn’t pass the sniff test. Dogs. Can’t live without them, and can’t live without them.

Here she is contemplating the meaning of the bird prints. She had to lay down because the overbearing weight of their conceptual nature was exhausting and overwhelming.

She’s a deep thinker, that Olive.

So, that’s it. I wish I had even more pictures to show you of my new favorite prints hanging in all their glory. I need to get better at taking full-room pictures. It’s a tough thing to tackle. My friend’s brother is a very talented photography major at Indiana University and I’ve been thinking of some ways to bribe him into taking some pics for me; he has taken some gorgeous photographs of her apartment. You can pay college kids with 12-packs and pizza, right? What about with dog licks? We would be RICH if you could use dog licks as currency.

Stay tuned for a terrarium how-to this week. SO MUCH PLANT EXCITEMENT HAPPENING. Must. Calm. Down.

2 thoughts on “Bird Brains

  1. I wonder if the people who lived there before look at your blog and are so JEALOUS they lived there once and it didn’t look like that.

  2. Pingback: We’re Painting the Horses Blue… « twentyonehouse

Tell me what you think:

