I Shall Name Them Tilly

For Tillandsia, of course. No. I didn’t just sneeze. That is the scientific name for my new favorite things: air plants!

Have you seen these guys before? I’m completely smitten. They are plants that require no soil, because they can absorb water and nutrients directly through their leaves. Which in home-decorator speak means that you can display these babies just about anywhere.

So, I did what any normal person does with a new obsession and ordered some. (I ordered from this website which is not only beautifully designed, it was a delightful process; I even got a handwritten thank you!)

When they arrived it felt like Christmas morning. I had this package presented to me which was obviously wrapped with tender love and care. And an instruction manual, of course.

Look how freaking adorable they are! whojoodoooboooboooo (I’ll fully admit I had majorly suppress my knee-jerk reaction to baby talk them.)

Those teeny tiny ones just about killed me.

According to my well-designed and witty instruction manual (much easier to follow than Ikea’s, btw) I was to soak them in a bowl for about 20-30 minutes.

After they drank their bottle absorbed their water and dried over night I could finally tuck them away safely in their new homes.

I was like Austin Powers: “Work it! Work it! YOU’RE AN ANIMAL… errr YOU’RE A PLANT.”

I hung these glass globes in a kitchen corner that opens to the family room, so you can see them from just about every angle.

And from the kitchen:

And obviously Olive made it into this photo session. She’s always there, just waiting. I think what creeps me out the most is I’m never sure what exactly it is she’s waiting for. Does she think I might miraculously cough up a T-Bone or tennis ball?

You have officially been introduced to my new babies. They’re not quite as easy to care for as I originally thought — I was under the impression you just gave them a little spritz of water every now and again. It turns out about once a week you need to give them a 20 minute bath in a bowl of water. I may as well go out and buy some miniature rubber duckies.

12 thoughts on “I Shall Name Them Tilly

  1. How interesting – they sound like my kind of plant! I hope you’ll do a follow-up post sometime… I wonder how much they will grow. The glass holders are really pretty.

  2. I’ve had one for over a year. About once or twice a week I hold it under the faucet for a few seconds, shake it, and return it to it’s vase. Easy! I’m planning to try taking it outside this summer.

  3. Pingback: Same Name, Different Game | The Harpster Home

  4. I love your air plant arrangement!! And I’m interested to know where you found the hanging globes you uses to display/house the plants? I’ve never even seen anything like the ones you used.

    Any tips would be appreciated!
    Thanks, Cari

    • Aren’t they stunning? I rounded them up from two different home decor stores in Columbus, Ohio. But, I just did a quick search on Google and found very similar ones: http://goo.gl/jPF8m. I hope that helps. Good luck with your search, Cari!

  5. Thanks for the tips. My son sent me some from Florida, where they grow in the trees in their yard. Hope they make it. Will follow your advice about the soak in water. That was helpful info.

Tell me what you think:

