Victory! Shower Curtain Tutorial

So I’ve attempted this whole “sewing” thing a few times. I tackled a geometric pillow that took me a few tries, I made an envelope pillow cover, and I’ve hemmed curtains. None of these projects come anywhere close to these shower curtains I made. I mean, look how proud Olive is?

I’m going to go ahead and warn you: if you get annoyed easily you should probably stop reading riiiiiiiight about here. Because these curtains took me 8 hours to make and I’m super proud of them. EIGHT HOURS. Women can birth babies in that amount of time. So, I basically birthed these curtains. They are my babies. So no nay-saying. Because they are perfect and precious and can’t do anything wrong. Mmm hmm. I’m sticking to my story.

Ok, here’s the how-to:

First I sketched them up in a horribly rough looking photoshop sketch:

Which all you non-photoshop peeps can do with just a plain ole fat sharpie. Easy as that. No computers needed.

I measured. And measured. And measured, again. I don’t have a picture of the sketch I made with my measurements, but I do have this one that told me how long to cut my stripes.

The reason two of the white and black stripes were taller was to allow for the rod pocket at the top and the hem at the bottom.

After I measured 17 times it was time to cut.

I cut out all of my stripes and then laid them out on the floor so I could see how they would look in all of their finished glory.

And you’re done! <insert maniacal laugh here> Not. Even. Close.

It was then time to sew all these babies together.

I flipped the second stripe over on the first, and then went to pinning town. Which really just means I pinned them together.

Time to bust out the Sewing Machine. Please rise for the All Powerful Sewing Machine. Thank you. You may be seated.

At this point I had two stripes sewn together. Now you basically just repeat that two more times. Flip, pin, sew. Flip pin, sew.

I sort of fast-forwarded through that for you. You’re welcome.

Ok, so here’s where it gets even MORE fun. Once I had all four stripes sewn together, I ironed all of the flaps down. I know that sounds like a medical condition and I apologize for pointing that out.

Make sure that you’re ironing the flaps onto the dark side if you’re following along at home. If you flattened them on the white side you’d see them through the lightweight fabric.

After I repeated this throughout the whole curtain panel, it was time to sew the hem. I gave it a double fold so the edges would be clean on the inside.

And yes, I am 30-years-old but have the wrinkly hands of a grandmother. I’ve been like this my whole life. Maybe because I’m old soul. Or maybe I genetically have wrinkle-inclined hands. That’s a whole different philosophical discussion.

Anywhoo. After I folded I ironed. I’ve realized that’s sorta the “rule” in sewing. If you fold anything you basically need to iron it immediately to keep the nice crease.

See how lovely and flat? I even broke out the fancy seam on my sewing machine for the first time. It just seemed like this hem needed zigging and zagging. It felt like the right thing to do.

So this next part I’m going to be straight-up with you people. I messed up. I messed up big time. Well, not really biiiig time but enough that I had to rip seams that I had sewn.

In real life the next thing I did was make the pocket for the curtain rod… and what I should’ve done was sewn up all the edges first. So, we’re just going to proceed and pretend like this never happened. But I just had to tell you the truth so you didn’t think I really knew was I was doing as I made these bad boys. Because I didn’t. I really had no clue now that I think about it.

Moving on.

So the next step was folding the curtain in half to give ‘er a cut right down the middle. I am one of those weird people who like the french-door type curtains. I like the shower to be framed with fabric rather than be closed completely off. I think it makes the room feel larger. Personal preference. If you’re following along you can absolutely skip this step.

I’m not going to lie. It was terrifying to take a pair of scissors to something I had just worked so hard on. After a few deep breaths I was snip-snipping along.

After the cut was made down the middle, I sewed up all four raw edges. I used the same double fold/iron/sew technique from the hem and it worked like a charm.

Then it was Pocket Rod time! I feel like I should copyright that. ©Pocket Rod Time!

I also used the double fold/iron/sew technique here, but I varied it by making a 4 inch allowance for the curtain rod.

And then it was time to BE EXCITED.

You guys. I was so excited.

Which explains the picture below wherein you can see emotions on my face that range from exhausted to excited. With a little sweat mixed in. Because I was sweating heavily at this point.

Time to hang!

Don’t they look purty? I still need to add a bunch of accessories to finish this room, but it’s getting there! Also, I had to buy a new extra-long clear shower curtain to allow for the ceiling-to-floor length curtains. Once it’s not so new the wrinkles will go away and it will look slick and clean.

I love admiring her from the hallway.

And if you’re curious, the panels can be closed in the event that my guests would like a little privacy during their naked cleaning moments.

Gratuitous close up.

I also want to show you that I kept them about an inch or so off the floor. Since they’re made from a lightweight linen they’re not exactly waterproof. I thought keeping them off the ground would keep them nice and dry.

I had to make sure that they were Olive Approved. And by Olive Approved I mean I put them on her.

Perfect fit! And they don’t even make her butt look big!

Phew. This little blog post made all that look so easy. And it is easy, I suppose. Just time-consuming, but Oh So worth it. I seriously smile every time I walk by the guest bathroom. Maybe I’ll start showering in there just to enjoy my new curtains.

I hope you learned from my mistakes. If you’re trying this at home feel free to email me or comment on this post with any questions you may have. There’s a good chance I won’t know the answer to your questions, but lucky for both of us my mom is only a phone call away.

Have a lovely Thursday. Friday is just around the corner!

20 thoughts on “Victory! Shower Curtain Tutorial

  1. This is a great project for a novice sewer. However, might I suggest that you take those curtains down and do your zigzag sewing thingie over the seams or they will fray very quickly and might even disintergrate when they are washed. Particularly seeing they are a lightweight linen. They are probably fraying while you sleep! You should have actually used a ‘run and fell seam’ or even a ‘french seam’ which are a bit complicated for a new sewer, but if someone shows you how to do it, they are really very simple. Would love to demonstrate for you but I’m in Australia. Find a sewing friend – quickly! Also, general sewing seams are usually 5/8″ wide. This is a much preferable size to have the seam sit nicely. If you can’t handle the maths, use 1/2″. Looking forward to many more sewing projects. I don’t want to be too critical when you have done such a proudworthy job, but I am a little afraid for longevity of curtains.

  2. I have always had wrinkly hands too! I’m 20 and I always get weird looks when people catch a glimpse of my palms. I hate it.

  3. Ohmigosh. I am going to make these… in pink and purple… and Mom will just have to get over it. <3. Or I'll use them in my bedroom window, but they are super cute as shower curtains too~.

  4. Cute shower curtain! I just purchased a sewing machine recently and I’ve got a homemade shower curtain already on my to-do list. I like the idea of the “french-door” type curtain! I’ll definitely be keeping this in mind. Good job!

  5. Pingback: Wallpaper Be Gone | The Harpster Home

  6. Pingback: Pintuesdays: Double Shower Curtains | Mover's Nation Blog

  7. Pingback: I’m Lookin’ at You, Guest Room | The Harpster Home

  8. Pingback: How To Change The Décor Of Your Bathroom With A Simple DIY Shower Curtain - 15 Ideas

  9. Pingback: Jak zrobić zasłonę prysznicową? | Mieszkaniowe inspiracje

  10. Pingback: {Sewing Tutorials} Add POPS of Color to Your Home | Sew Chic and Unique

  11. Pingback: 15 DIY Shower Curtain Projects Anyone Can Make!

  12. Pingback: 10 DIY shower curtains (sew and no sew) - Andrea's Notebook

Tell me what you think:

