Just Add Spray Paint

It seems most of my projects involve spray paint. I would say I have random paint splotches on my hands at least 82% of the time. So when trying to find a frame for the print that Molly got me for my birthday why would the situation be any different?

I marched myself right over to Goodwill and found this gem of a frame:

Yeah, I know. It doesn’t look like much of a gem yet. To frame my print I knew I needed an 8″ x 10″ mat because the print size is 8.5″ x 11″, which is why I was so excited to find this frame, complete with mat.

And then I flipped it over to see the price:

I probably couldn’t have taken a more blurry picture if I tried. I’m not really sure what happened there. Moving along…

SOLD to the lady who loves a bargain and spray paint!

I knew what to do next. I set up a spray paint station in the garage with some old cardboard boxes and a shower curtain. Very Macgyver-esque. Very classy. On a related note: I am pretty sure our next-door neighbor thinks I have a paint-huffing addiction. He is essentially a real-life Ned Flanders so I can only assume he’s praying for me.

One coat of primer and one coat of white was all it took to cover up these bad boys. Since I didn’t have to do a bunch of coats the texture in the mat still shows through the paint.

You can’t beat this $2.99 framing solution. I win.

She doesn’t yet have a permanent place in the house. We are actually in the process in taking EVERYTHING off the walls in preparation for the painting crew on Monday. We have to remove light-switch covers, pictures, mirrors, and curtains. So EVERYTHING basically. That’s why posts are light this week, gotta do all the prep work! And it’s not really worth taking pictures of. I don’t want the house to feel like I’m taking naked pictures of her and posting them on the internet. That’s just wrong.

OH! And in paint-color related news: I PICKED ALL THE COLORS. It was a very exciting moment last night when I emailed our project manager the paint swatches. You are probably wondering how I came to my final decision. Well, I did what any rational person would do when faced with a big decision like this: I drank several large glasses of wine and then made a decision without thinking too much about it. Should turn out ok. Right? Right.

I’ll keep you posted. Until then, have a wonderful and happy weekend, everyone!

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Just Add Spray Paint

  1. I just stumbled across your blog today, and I think we would be great friends! I myself last weekend found about 20 wooden frames at Goodwill from anywhere from 50 cents to 1.50 each, and I plan on using them in a frame collage wall in my kitchen. I’m going to be painting many of them white, as well! 🙂 Can’t wait to see more of your posts.

Tell me what you think:

