Before and Aft…

Well, not really “after” per se. I would call the following pictures more or less “in progress.”

With both of us working full-time and just being generally busy people sometimes I feel like we’re not getting enough done on the house. Over the weekend I stumbled on the pictures of our house from the day we moved in; I took a long, hard look at them and realized, surprisingly, how far we’ve come in four, short months.

I’m really proud of our progress and wish I had a few more pictures. I have a call set up with our painters today (YAY!) and we’ll hopefully nail down a date in the coming weeks. After we finally get our walls painted I want to go through and take proper pictures of the whole house. And I’m sure you have no doubt I will keep you posted. I will most likely over-share, as usual.

In the meantime, I thought it would be fun to see some of our progress so far.

The family room on move-in day & today:

Aside from the random paint blobs on the wall, the unfinished desk, and some pillows that still need covered, I’m so excited with the direction this room is taking. It feels warm and cozy and still a bit unique.

The laundry room on move-in day & today:

I bet you forgot about all of the junk helpful items that the previous home owners left behind.

I’m sure no room will ever be “done”, but this room is definitely the most finished. A change that might happen down the line is adding front-loading, energy-efficient washer and dryer; with the addition of new appliances we would then have the ability to add a counter-top in here which would make folding laundry a cinch.

The kitchen and dinette on move-in day & today:

Surprisingly, we opted to rid the kitchen of the fruit & veggie curtains, the silk ivy, the plastic plate display, bulky cabinet, brassy hardware, and the 90’s chandelier. I have one thing to say about that: Sigh. A big ole sigh of relief.

The kitchen is my favorite room in the house. I love sitting at our round table and just glancing around. I’m sure Steve thinks I have a screw loose, but I’ll literally just sit there, stare, and smile. He’ll ask me “what are you thinking about?” and I’ll simply respond: “I love our house.”

Ok, enough about my love affair with our house. I know, I know… we should get a room. Or THREE. Hahahaha, see what I did there? I made a joke, and then laughed at my own joke.

Have a lovely Monday, friends. Hopefully I’ll have some painting updates for you soon.

4 thoughts on “Before and Aft…

Tell me what you think:

