Friday Fireplace Festivities

I’m so sorry. I know the alliteration gets old but I seriously can not help myself. It’s like a disease. A delightful disease. See?!

Today I want to show you guys how a small change can make a big difference in your living space. It’s like scratching an itch. Or itching a scratch. I know my mom is wagging her finger at me right now. I think at this point I say it incorrectly just because she’s been correcting me since I was ten. HAHA MOM! I win.

I’m sure you don’t remember as well as I do, but our fireplace door was brass. Like, all up in your face brass. Like, WE WENT ON A NICE DATE AND I DON’T KNOW WHY YOU’RE NOT RETURNING MY PHONE CALLS brass. Brass, you have a nice personality. I’m just not physically attracted to you. Let’s just be friends.

So I lovingly ripped off the fireplace doors and taped ’em up.

After going around the edges with tape, I covered the glass with a paper bag and did another layer of tape around the edges. Better safe than sorry!

You can see that I propped the doors up on some stakes. That was so when I painted around the edges the paint could get all the way to the back edge of the frame. It also prevents the frame from sticking to the tarp after the paint is dry.

The next step was sanding. I needed to rough up the smooth brassy surface with some fine grit sandpaper. 220 worked great.

I made sure to sand very lightly so I didn’t damage the frame with any deep scratches.

I know all of these steps seem tedious, but I promise it was worth it. After a light sanding I gave my precious brassy baby a wipe down with a damp cloth. A sponge bath, if you will.

BUSTED. Yes, we got fudge from the Fudge Kitchen in Nashville last weekend. And No. There isn’t any left.

Bricky the brick was concerned about the fudge situation.

Steve made me I decided, on my own, to do a coat of primer first. Because I’m a responsible and patient DIYer (no I’m not). I made sure to get “high heat” primer and paint since I was painting, well, something fire-related.

I had to wait a few days for it to warm up around here because at 50° the paint bubbled. Luckily (or not, if it means the world is ending) we’ve had a few gorgeous 65° days so I could get my spray paint on. The primer went on smoothly, and then after giving her an hour to dry it was time for the main event: the black coat.

I’m so excited I can’t even stand it any longer; I’m just going to show you the before and after.

I MEAN, RIGHT?

HUGE, ENORMOUS, MONUMENTAL DIFFERENCE… right?

Ok. So because I’m married to a realist I was informed last night that it’s not really that big of a difference. But you guys, to me it really is a huge change. Those brass doors were just always staring at me, taunting me. And now the fireplace doors receded into the darkness. Which is how it should be. The rest of the fireplace should get the attention, not the measly doors.

Can you see Olive in the picture above?

She watches my every move.

Please overlook the tourette-esque paint swatches on the wall.

Just so you know, I don’t pose Olive for any of my pictures. She just happens to be magnetically attached to my body. She is never more than 10 feet away from me or Steve.

She is such an attention whore.

She’s lucky she’s cute.

So now that I’ve walked you through how I scratched my itch (See mom? I can say it right!) I can go on my merry way.

Molly is coming in town tomorrow and then we’re all going out on the town to celebrate my birthday. For not living in Indianapolis very long I feel very grateful for the wonderful friends I’ve made. I can’t wait to hang with all my buds on Saturday. I may or may not be too hungover to post anything on Monday morning — 30 year olds have terrible hangovers from what I hear — so I’ll just go ahead and send you some extra love now, to make up for it. xoxoxoxoxoxo

13 thoughts on “Friday Fireplace Festivities

  1. found you through Poppytalk … love your DIY projects and your humor! Bricky the Brick and Olive the Attentive Whore 🙂

  2. MO! This is my plan for this weekend! We bought all the stuff last Sunday, although I’m rethinking the spray paint. I don’t think we’ll be able to remove and replace the doors all that easily so am probably going to opt for a can of paint instead. Can’t wait to get started. I’m sick of looking at that brass (we’ve a two-sided fireplace so I have to see it from not just the sitting room but the kitchen too). I’ll let you know how we get on.

  3. Wow! There is a HUGE difference. I dislike brass in my house too. Working on removing it from this new house too. Door knobs, handles, frames. Yuck!

  4. I surfed on your site from the string art OHIO project that was listed on craftgawker.com. LOVED that and how you detailed the directions.
    The difference of your newly painted fireplace door is just amazing. ! The brass finish draws one’s eyes to it in the most hideous of ways. The black even makes the grout and brick pop even more. Great job !!! My only suggestion would be after the sandpaper sanding, you could use a very fine steel wool just in case you needed to buff out any scratches.

  5. I didn’t notice mine until your project…thanks a lot. Now it is the elephant in the room. Thank you for your post. I guess you know what my next project is going to be. : )

  6. OMG thank you for being brave and defeating the brass! I have brass doors on my fireplace, and even tho our home is only 10 years old, the fireplace looked like something out of the ’80’s because of the brass. WHO in their right mind when building this house in 2002 would have chosen brass????? But now, thanks to you and your awesome instructions/pics/brick/dog, I too will conquer the brass!!!

    • Not everyone likes the black hole! Brass has personality. Black is…boring! Brass is warm and homey. Black is cold and, ugh, modern. Everyone to their own taste. 20 years from now, people will say “WHO is their right mind would paint that beautiful brass BLACK?”

  7. Great job! I, too, must now put this on my list of warm weather projects for next year.
    You did an excellent job and it looks terrific!
    I am also married to a realist – so sad at times – but the fireplace looks great without the brass!!

  8. Pingback: An Update for my Fireplace! « my sky is the limit

  9. Love your ideas and creativity not to mention your humorous writing. I have those “in-your-face brass doors” too. Your instructions are great and your doors look terrific. I was wondering if you ever tackled an update for a red brick fireplace, it was quite the rage in the 50s. Can you make any recommendations on accomplishing this project.

Tell me what you think:

