Whozits and Whatzits Galore

Twenty bucks if you know what that line is from.

Ok, first: it’s from The Little Mermaid. Second: you’re not getting twenty bucks. How about you give yourself a pat on the back if you got it right and we call it even.

I’ve been holding out on you guys. I’ve collected a few more Whozits and Whatzits over the last two weeks and it’s time to show you the goods. Two weekends ago I visited Midland because my gift card was burning a hole in my pocket, and I came away with lots of new treasures and only had to spend $1.93! (Thanks Aunt Shelley!)

It’s a clear container. It must be mine. And for only $6 I couldn’t pass it up.

I’m not really sure what my obsession is with clear, glass bowls. I will confidently blame it on my mom because I’m sure she passed it onto me.

The reason we actually went shopping was to find a chair for our new desk in the family room and found one we did:

It was a complete and utter score. SIXTEEN DOLLARS. No, I didn’t say Sixty.

I said S I X T E E N.

I couldn’t believe it. It has perfect mid-century lines and woodworking and I actually even like the color of the cushion. I’ll probably pop it off and throw it in the wash, but the chunky, green corduroy is seriously doin’ it for me.

We still have a lot of work to do to the desk so ignore the reddish, dark color of the wood.

Isn’t she yummy? It was love at first sight.

Our next purchase was a tall filing cabinet for the office. Since our office is in the loft, sans closet, we have a teeny bit of a storage complication up there.

Problem. Solved.

I love that it has the durability of a metal filing cabinet but it has the warm, bronzed hardware and faux wood grain exterior.

And we have a little piece of Indiana University history sitting right in our home!

After our Midland adventure I drove down to Cincinnati to visit Molly and we hit up one of my favorite home goods stores: The Home Emporium. It’s set up like a warehouse so it’s more or less like a treasure hunt. Their prices are superb and the selection is mouth-watering.

And they have free popcorn. So.

My plan was to find a cool frame somewhere and make a bulletin board for the pantry, but then I found this pre-made one for only $18 and knew I had to get it. Once the pantry is painted I’ll give this frame a coat of brightly colored paint. It’s a quick and easy way to keep papers off the counter tops. (And it’s where my birthday print is living until I can find a frame for it.)

See the new addition in the family room? (I know I’m practically screaming that Waldo is sitting next to the topless sunbather but I wanted to make it an easy find.)

A new side table! We have really been needing something between the chair and loveseat to give some balance to the room, and I’m happy to say I’ve found the perfect piece.

How about a little love for my new ceramic drum?

I’m not going to lie. I have another picture of the drum without the magical sun beams and chose not to use it. This picture does a bang-up job of clearly illustrating our passionate bond. It’s like we’re gazing into each others eyes and the twinkling light is filtering through our love.

Yeah. I just said that.

I have to say that I am super thrilled with everything that was purchased last week. I never buy anything that I’m not 100% in love with, so even though we accumulated quite a few new roommates, we have a place for all of them.

Everything needs a home. Don’t even get me started.

The Birthday Taco Night was a success and I feel more loved than ever. Thanks again for all of the birthday wishes. I’m a lucky gal. xoxo

Tell me what you think:

