Three Decades of Me

THREE DECADES. Do you have any idea how many decades that is? THREE! I can’t believe I turn 30 today. I also can’t believe how totally okay with it I am. I’m just a happy girl, what can I say? I love my husband more than I ever thought it was possible to love another human being and I have some of the most supportive, honest, and just down right damn good people in my life. My parents are beyond words. Seriously. I have no words for how incredible they are. And same goes for my best friend, Molly. So, 30? Eh. No big deal. I’m just excited to see what the next few years bring.

Thank you to all of the people in my life who bring me joy, love, and peace. I love you all — and you know who you are.

OKAY. Now that that’s over. I’m just going to dab my tear ducts dry and continue on.

Birthday weekend! I promised some pictures so here we go:

We arrived at Brown County State Park Saturday morning ready for some hiking. Even though it was cold, I couldn’t wait to spend the day outside, breathing fresh air.

Not even 10 minutes into our hike Steve was already trying to roll logs down into the valleys. He can be such a little boy sometimes, and it’s kind of adorable.

After the failed log roll attempt he thought it would be fun to make a slingshot out of a sapling. I have a regular ole Dennis The Menace on my hands.

Even though it was blustery and snowing, we managed to stay warm.

There were some log acrobatics:

And then the sun came out! It turned out to be a stunningly beautiful winter day.

We found a playground that had this See Saw-esque type of apparatus. Of course we got on — DUH — and Steve had me practically flying through the air. I was laughing so hard and then my laughter perpetuated with each string of saliva and snot that flew out of my face.

We visited the park’s nature center and my favorite exhibit was the bird watching room. I am an avid bird watcher so this was my perfect scenario: the window was like a two-way mirror. The birds couldn’t see us, but we could see them. In the picture it doesn’t look like there were any birds, but there were. OH THERE WERE. So many! And so many new kinds that I have never seen before!

After we explored some of the trails at the park we visited a local antique shop.

They had lots of really cool milk glass jugs and all types of gorgeous glassware. I managed to restrain myself and I walked away with a single item: a geode! Who doesn’t love geodes?

We finally mosied our way into the little town of Nashville, which was about a mile from the park. We strolled around for about an hour and then decided to check into our room and relax before dinner.

It was the cutest room! We had a pretty rugged (but gorgeous) honeymoon, and we joked that this room was nicer than our Curacao Bungalow. We soaked in the hot tub which was so nice after a day of hiking and walking around outside.

The next morning we visited a cute and seriously delicious breakfast place, and headed home to scoop up our girl, Olive, who was patiently waiting for us at her doggy day care. They take good care of her there so we knew she had just as much fun as we did. Next time we visit the park we’re definitely taking her with us so she can play on the trails alongside us.

This wouldn’t be a birthday post if I didn’t show you a few pictures of my new treasures!

YES I FINALLY GOT MY SEWING MACHINE! AND YES IT IS PROBABLY ONE OF THE BEST DAYS OF MY LIFE. Sorry, honey. The wedding was awesome and all but, you know. This is pretty rad, too. Thank you Mom and Dad. xoxo

And to really top it off, Molly totally surprised me with two little gifts. I unwrapped the first present and just about it lost it. She found this artist on Etsy that I’m obsessed with and got me one of her prints! (Molly said she was super sweet during the whole transaction. I recommend you check out her work!)

I’m obsessed. OB – SESSED. Doesn’t it look like an octopus? Yeah, Molly and I thought so too.

And then to really get the waterworks started I opened up the second gift.

Excuse the gratuitous close up of my skin, but I wanted you to be able to clearly see the necklace. She told me that it says “SISTER” in Morse Code. Yup. Started crying. Right there holding the necklace in my hands. Before I even got it on, actually. She is the best sister anyone could ever have, and trust me — I realize how lucky I am to have her.

So, that’s it! The best birthday ever and it’s not even over yet! Steve and I went out and got some sushi last night, so I think tonight we’re just going to kick back, open up a glass of wine, and eat some tacos in our PJs. Perfection.

Thanks for all the birthday wishes, everyone!

Tell me what you think:

