Obsession: Day 2

I am officially in love with sewing. Last night I moved into Day 2 of the obsession. Using my knowledge from my first sewing attempt a few days ago, I tackled hemming the curtains in our bedroom.

I know that this is not even close to groundbreaking work. I understand that it isn’t really even post-worthy. I’m fully aware that most of you can sew blindfolded with a hand tied behind your back, and I realize that a 5-year-old could most likely school me on a sewing machine.

I don’t care. I’m enjoying every moment of my domestic accomplishments.

The first picture looks better because of the light from the window, but you can see how much more buttoned up the curtains look now that they’re not dragging the floor. I know some people like the bunched-curtain look, but it just isn’t my jam.

I was on the phone with my parents last night (we usually talk one to two times a day — I know. I actually like my parents, isn’t that weird?) and they told me they hated to ruin the surprise but wanted to make sure I wasn’t on the hunt for a sewing machine because…

Wait for it…

 

Keeping waiting…

 

Oh, this is getting so exciting…

 

THEY’RE GETTING ME A SEWING MACHINE FOR MY BIRTHDAY!

I almost dropped the phone. I’m going to have a sewing machine to call my own! I seriously can not wait.

Any links in the comments to cool sewing blogs would be very much appreciated. Even though I’ll only be able to work on projects that include sewing in straight lines and 90Ā° angles. It’s a learning process, I suppose.

I’m meeting with a designer tonight to bounce around some ideas for wall colors. Hopefully I’ll be back soon with some decisions I feel good about!

6 thoughts on “Obsession: Day 2

  1. Hi! I saw your postcard frame project on Pinterest and decided to check-out your blog. I loved these vintage images you shared, and I am also a big fan of Charley Harper. I can’t wait to see your house evolve!

  2. Hi Moriya,
    I found your blog a few days ago and love reading all about your DIY home makeover projects! I actually JUST got a sewing machine for my birthday (my husband has no idea what kind of monster he just created) and am attempting my first “big” project tonight: a pillowcase. So far, I have managed to make about 237 mistakes, so I am really looking forward to how this baby is going to turn out! But your curtain-hemming has inspired me… eventually, I think I will actually figure this out. šŸ™‚

    This is a great blog, and I am looking forward to your future creations with your new sewing machine. I will most likely be documenting all of my sewing trials & tribulations (and hopefully masterpieces!) over on my blog, ciaomamablog.wordpress.com. Have a great weekend!

  3. Pingback: Victory! Shower Curtain Tutorial. | The Harpster Home

  4. Pingback: Obsession day | Fotohint

Tell me what you think:

