You’ll be Green with Envy

Well, maybe not. I certainly understand that a brightly colored chartreuse chair is not everyone’s cup of tea.

Last time we visited Steve’s parent’s house we poked around up in their attic and requested a few items of furniture. When they came for a visit this weekend they rode into town in their chariot (minivan) filled to the brim with treasures (attic furniture).

I probably said at least 10 times “I LOVE THIS CHAIR.”

I love the squared back and the absolutely delectable avocado / chartreuse / puke green color. I know many of you probably think I’m a looney-tune for wanting this chair proudly displayed in our family room, but you have to admit it surprisingly fits the style of the space.

I think my friends and family would probably say that it looks like a chair that would belong to me. Which explains why I love it so much. That, and it used to belong to Steve’s grandmother who I happen to adore. So, it’s a win-win.

Another piece of furniture that we inherited was this very simple, solid, functional desk-like table:

The shape and style are certainly right up my alley. We immediately stripped the table of its chrome-like siding and laminate top to see what we had to work with.

Although it’s a step in the right direction, we still have some progress to make. The next step is figuring out how to refinish the current table top, or deciding if we should just replace it.

I’m hoping to find a unique chair at an antique shop one of these days. Perhaps Midland? Yeah, probably. The whole desk-in-the-family-room idea came from one of my favorite blogs: Young House Love. They are so inspiring.

It’s such a nice use of space, and also quite functional. It will be a great docking station for our always-floating laptop, as well as a place for commonly used items such as stamps and envelopes.

Olive couldn’t have possibly cared any less about what was going on. You give that dog a sunbeam and she’s set for hours.

I couldn’t resist scooping her up for a snuggle session on Sunday morning.

In other exciting news:  I LEARNED TO USE A SEWING MACHINE. Yes, you read that correctly. In fact, my mechanically inclined husband showed me the ropes. He’s not just a lumberjack; he is quite the Renaissance Man, actually.

First he showed me how to thread everything, and then I was basically on my own within a matter of minutes. I was a sewing machine! (Couldn’t resist that pun.) I am already addicted and currently looking for a machine to call my own.

First item of business was hemming the panel that acts as our pantry door. That curtain rod still needs a coat of oil-rubbed bronze spray paint so it isn’t all “HEY I’M A WHITE CURTAIN ROD.” I felt very accomplished and proud of myself. I realize all I did was sew a straight line, but let me bask in this glory, okay?

Next up is hemming the curtains in our bedroom, then perhaps making a few pillows, and then probably taking over the world.

How was everyone’s weekend? I hope you all enjoyed the sunshine (if you had it) and stayed warm (if you had the low temps we had). Happy Monday!

One thought on “You’ll be Green with Envy

Tell me what you think:

