I Love Lamp.

Remember when I talked about possibly making over our lamp in my Friday Find post? I’m probably assuming you’re more of a reader than you are. But that’s okay. Here’s the scoop:

Our table lamp felt a tad lackluster on our sharp, new West Elm end table.

So I bought three things: a new lampshade from Target ($25 — which is a hair above my comfort zone), a can of turquoise spray paint, and a tub of Valspar’s Antiquing Glaze.

I spun around 2.5 times, did a few hip thrusts, fist-pumped once or twice, and SHABOOM! NEW LAMP!

Ok, we all know that’s really not how it happened. (But good visual, right?)

The real story is much less exciting. After I primed +  painted, and then popped on a new lamp shade, I was left with this:

Although it’s much more modern than where I started, I wasn’t feeling the bright-as-a-baboon-butt turquoise. It was a tip-toe in the right direction but it definitely needed to calm down. Some Lamp Xanax, if you will.

Enter: Valspar’s Antiquing Glaze. (WARNING: You will get hooked and you will want to use this on your entire house. Even on your husband and your dog.)

Olive could sense the impending magical transformation. That’s her “I’m excited” face.

This is how it all went down:
I dumped some of the glaze into a shallow dish so I could coat my brush evenly. Then I literally tried to get as much of it off the brush as I could.

Then you sort of just dry-brush it on whatever you’re painting. I went against the direction of any raised parts on the lamp. So, I pulled the brush up and down on the top part of the lamp, and then on the base I pulled the brush horizontally from left to right. That way the glaze catches on the bumps. Make sense? Depending on how much glaze you want, wipe off the excess with a rag. The bottle says you have 15 minutes of working time, but mine seemed to dry a lot sooner than that — just a warning.

Here’s a dramatic close-up:

You can see how the turquoise turned into a rich teal color, which is definitely what I was working toward. I recommend going slow and steady and layering on the glaze.

I am obsessed with the result. The lamp turned out exactly how I wanted; the black glaze worked so well with the bright turquoise color. However, I do wish the glaze came in different tones. I tried this same glaze on some chairs I painted white, but I didn’t get exactly the same result. It looks a bit more “dirty” than “antiqued,” but I’ll let you be the judge when I post that story.

Anyone have any Antiquing Glaze success stories? I’d love to see some more pictures.

4 thoughts on “I Love Lamp.

  1. Pingback: Upholstering, Shmapholstering. | The Harpster Home

    • Shoot! I can’t remember what brand it was, but I think it was either Krylon or Rustoleom. I just got it at Lowes, so nowhere fancy. Good luck!

  2. Hello. I just stumbled across your blog and it is so addicting. I am an OCD crafter and the only bad thing is my Mr doesn’t use tools. ( boo) but thank you for your blog it’s my new fav.

Tell me what you think:

