We Have Liftoff!

After a few weeks of the kitchen being partially finished, I’m happy to announce that we’re done with the cabinet shenanigans! And by liftoff, I’m referring to hanging the finally-stained shelves and raising the cabinets a good four inches.

Here’s a refresher of how things looked when we started a few weeks ago:

And here’s where we are now:

It feels even more open and airy in person, if you can believe it. Everything seems more modern, updated, and just all around better. Basically, the new kitchen kicks the old kitchen’s ass.

Here’s another before:

And after:

Don’t you just want to make out with those shelves? Oh, just me? Ok. I’m just so thrilled with how the stain turned out. Because there wasn’t one color of stain that matched the cabinets, we had to layer on two different colors. We used two layers of a reddish tint, and then two more layers of a golden tint. They are damn near perfect.

Another reason the kitchen feels more open now is because we raised the cabinets on the far wall. You see that white space below them? That’s where they used to sit.

Raising the cabinets was an adventure. That whole chunk of cabinetry is connected with trim at the top, so we had to treat it as one large cabinet. Because it was just the two of us we didn’t have the luxury of taking it down and then holding it up in place to reattach it to the wall.

With our powers combined we came up with a method that actually worked like a charm:

Our method was: Stack-as-much-junk-under-the-cabinets-as-we-can. We kept cramming objects under there hoping it would raise the cabinets to the right height. And by golly, it actually worked. I will fully admit I had my doubts, but my brilliant lumberjack proved me wrong.

And just so you guys see what my OCD has to deal with during these projects:

It looked like our cabinets spewed out their insides on the counter-tops. I had to keep telling myself it would be over soon.

Here’s another shot of the finished product from Olive’s point of view:

She showed her excitement about the whole kitchen makeover with an emotional howl:

We got another painting quote on Friday and are about ready to make our decision. It’s hard for me to comprehend that 3 or 4 days are going to pass and then *POOF* all of the walls and ceilings are going to be painted. I can hardly wait! It’s going to really make the kitchen feel finished. (No, those white splotches of paint on the kitchen walls aren’t strategic.) What I’m looking forward to most is for all of the peeling dry-wall tape and the cracks in the ceiling to be fixed. It’s fixing the little details that are going to make the biggest difference.

I worked on a few small makeover projects over the weekend, so I’ll be back later this week with some more pictures of before and afters.

Good luck surviving Monday. I can’t really complain; I love my job and I work with some pretty rad people. Not to rub it in, but you know. Just reminding myself how not-bad Monday is.

2 thoughts on “We Have Liftoff!

  1. The floating shelves are a VAST improvement. They open up the entire look and feel of the kitchen. Great concept, excellent execution and your woodworking is definitely top-shelf (Ha!) I never knew you were a master carpenter, Steve!
    I am looking forward to your next endeavor as you have already inspired me to revisit a couple of projects around our house that I had long ago forgotten all about.
    Anyways, good luck with the new house and keep the posts coming. I have enjoyed reading your blog and keeping up with you crazy newlyweds a little bit.

  2. Pingback: Kitchen Shelves: After… sorta. | The Harpster Home

Tell me what you think:

