Reduce, REUSE, Recycle.

Words I try to live my life by. So when I was able to successfully bequeath the sandwich board sign from my wedding, I was ecstatic.

I had no idea what I was going to do with this behemoth after we said “I Do.” I didn’t want to just throw it in a landfill, but we really had no use for it. I thought about repainting it to say “Welcome to The Harpster Home: Home of The Sexy Lumberjack” and sticking it in the front yard. And this is a good example of why Steve has vetoing rights.

Fast forward to a few months later. My mom’s friend Leslie opens up an adorable little shop in the Short North District in Columbus, Ohio, called LP Designs. She sells incredibly unique independent artists’ works that range from paintings, to household items, to gorgeous pieces of handmade jewelry (MY MOM SELLS HER JEWELRY THERE — GO THERE NOW. BUY STUFF!)

Leslie’s store is in a great location: just off High Street, which is the main drag. Since her door isn’t technically ON High Street she needed a little something-something at the corner to point people her direction.

See where I’m going with this? Foreshadowing done right, people.

We happily gave her our “Welcome to Our Wedding sign” and since it weighs about a trillion pounds, it can withstand anything Mother Nature has to offer. Sometimes she can be such a bitch (Mother Nature — not Leslie). Huffing and puffing will not blow this sucker down.

It’s amazing the transformation a new sign and some blue paint can make:

I love how she added black trim around the edges. The sign looks so buttoned-up and complete now, like he’s off to his first day of business school.

I’m so satisfied knowing our sign, that we put so much love into, didn’t go to waste. It will live on with a purpose which makes me stupid happy. If I was Sheriff of the World I would make people reuse everything they had before buying anything new, by bribing them with jelly beans and licorice. Oooh maybe that pull & peel stuff; it’s mighty delicious.

Now I want candy.

The weekend is near and my town is insane. I live in Indianapolis and there’s this little thing called The Superbowl happening here. Between all of the chaos I hope to share a post tomorrow about our cabinet-raising adventures. Until then, look for me in the Superbowl news coverage!

Tell me what you think:

