Rinse, and Repeat

I recently posted about this little light strand vase I threw together, and last night while gazing obsessively lovingly up at the mantel I came to the conclusion that he needed a buddy. Because who doesn’t need a buddy in life? He just seemed all lonely up there all by himself. And it was throwing my OCD ALL OUTTA WHACK being all lopsided and unbalanced.

Luckily, for my own sanity, I had another one of those simple, cylindrical vases just taking up room in a cabinet. They must have been vases that came with mail-ordered flowers; that’s the only reason I can imagine I had two of the same.

Using the exact same process as before, I wound some twine round and round the vase.

A few minutes after my quick decision to recreate the first vase I now had two identical light sources for the mantel. (I noticed after placing them up there that one is actually about 1/2 an inch shorter than the other. Variety is the spice of life so I left it alone.)

I love the symmetry. It makes me squeal with delight. I’m not entirely sure why I didn’t light the candles before I took pictures but it’s actually okay because it gives you a good sense for how much light these vases give off. It’s a lovely little ambient glow.

I always start out these little arrangement assignments by placing decorative items asymmetrically and then I always end up predictably rearranging everything to be symmetrical. Life is short, I guess, and you just have to do what keeps you sane. Even if that means mirroring your decor in a predictable fashion.

I suddenly realized after rereading that last paragraph why so many men don’t understand women. We’re special creatures. (The kind of special with air quotes.)

Tell me what you think:

