House of Mirrors

I couldn’t wait to show you this easy mirror project from our bathroom makeover. This is seriously probably one of the easiest DIYs I’ve ever done. It’s right up there with the light strand vase.

This project was inspired by a mirror I saw on Pinterest, which hails from the lovely blog called A Creative Beginning.

Isn’t that mirror absolutely stunning? She did an incredible job creating and assembling this behemoth. (Her tutorial for this mirror is linked to the image.)

I knew I wanted to somehow incorporate this into our home but the real estate above our fireplace was already being rented out by a mirror that I’m deeply in love with. And thou shall not commit adultery. Which I’m sure doesn’t apply to inanimate objects, but still. When I came across little 4″ x 4″ beveled mirror coasters in my mom’s basement, I immediately knew what to do. (Mom gave me the stamp of approval to take all 24 of them. Score!) FREE SUPPLIES. There is no better gift on earth.

My handsome lumberjack agreed to cut out a 16″ x 24″ rectangle of sturdy wood to be the backbone of my large mirror. And then it was really as easy as laying out the mirrors on the board to fill the space as evenly as possible. (Some of them were slightly askew, so I had to rotate the wonky ones until they fit.) OH! Also, if your coasters have little rubber feet on them, I recommend scraping them off so the mirrors sit flush on the wood.

Once I had them where I wanted them, I grabbed my GOOP and went to town.

I used about 5 dots of gluey goop under each mirror.

And just simply worked my way through the mirrors.

After everything was glued down and exactly where I liked it, it was time to let it all dry. I don’t have a picture of this, but I used heavy books placed on top of the mirrors to weigh them down. I knew all those Art History books from college would finally come in handy.

After 24 hours of getting sat on by fat books, the mirror was ready to be hung!

We hung it at a slight down angle so it didn’t only reflect the ceiling, which really made a huge difference in its attractiveness. My favorite thing is the way the light bounces off of the beveled edges. It’s just so pretty!

See how easy that was? And might I mention how cheap it was? There’s really nothing like a low cost project with such a glamorous impact.

Happy Hump Day, people!

4 thoughts on “House of Mirrors

  1. Pingback: LaundryBathRoom Mania | The Harpster Home

  2. Pingback: Connie’s Collection | The Harpster Home

  3. love it! and thanks for the shout out! Your mirror turned out super cute, and heck! it was practically free! you definitely beat me on that one!

    Great job, love it!

    -Amanda

Tell me what you think:

