Sexy legs

After Steve made our coffee table we had an extra piece of wood that was in perfect, usable condition. I lived in Chicago at the time and desperately needed a plant table that fit the space in front of my window. I think you can see where this is going.

The first order of business was finding legs that fit the modern style I was going for. I was thrilled to find these extremely sexy hairpin legs online, so I put in an order.

Now I sort of wished that I had gone for the raw steel color, which is black (and cheaper!), but you win some you lose some, right?

Steve finished the raw sides of the board with trim he bought at a regular ole hardware store. Then we attached the legs and used our leftover stain from the coffee table to make this tabletop feel less Scrap Wood and more Finished Surface.

After a few coats of polyurethane (type that three times fast) we had a custom-built, beautiful, new plant table.

This table also served as Olive’s cave. Her dog bed was tucked in there and that’s where she curled up every night. You have to make your furniture multifunctional when living in 400 square feet of space. (I’m sure this is also where she rocked back and forth, muttering to herself “We’re leaving this place soon. TOO MANY LOUD NOISES. We’re leaving this place soon.“)

Nowadays this table is living behind the couch – still playing its role as a plant table – in my favorite little nook:

It’s a shame the legs are no longer visible but it was too perfect of a size to not be used back there. I’m already plotting to make something similar for the entry way. I’d like to put in an order for shorter legs, in the raw steel color, and make a bench that fits the space just right.

So many plans, so little free time. I’m hoping to start working on some more major projects soon, so we’ll see how it goes. There are literally so many projects to do around here that I’m not sure where to start. Anyone have advice on tearing down wallpaper? I’ll probably just start with whichever project allows me to drink wine while I work.

5 thoughts on “Sexy legs

  1. Pingback: My proudest DIY project | The Harpster Home

  2. Hey! I was wondering if this type of table would be sturdy enough to use as like a kitchen/dining room table? I’m moving into an apartment next fall with two other girls and we wanna stay as cheap as possible when it comes to furniture. If we build most of it ourselves it will be way cheaper. I am an art major and when I saw this i fell in love. Its fantastic! Our apartment is small though, and the kitchen area seems like it would be perfect for this size table. Please let me know! Thanks!

Tell me what you think:

