There is so much to be thankful for.

Don’t worry, I’m not going to list out all of the nouns I am thankful for (I can hear a collective sigh of relief). To make a long story short, I’ll just say I’m thankful for all the people in my life that I love, and that love me. Having my parents here this weekend conjured up unparalleled Warm and Fuzzies.

The day started with a bottle of champagne upon my parents arrival. Exxxcelent. Then Da Weemon (that’s how my dad, and his accent, say “the women”) started cooking in the kitchen. It was not unlike an episode of My Drunk Kitchen. Oh, I keed, I keed. We weren’t really that drunk, but we were definitely enjoying ourselves in there. Seriously one of the best Thanksgivings ever. Being able to host my parents for the first time was such a proud feeling, and it felt wonderful that after all these years they could relax for once.

I was going for a simple elegance for the table setting. You can’t go wrong with a bonfire of candles and a mix of whites and golds. Remember the gold chargers I talked about getting from Goodwill? I think they look lovely and not-at-all thrifted. Those mercury glass tea-light holders might just be my favorite candles ever. (.99 each at Target!)

The center of the centerpiece is a vase I already had, filled with cinnamon Red Hots (for a dash of color) and sticks I trimmed off of a tree in our yard. I was going to paint the branches white, but thought they just looked too autumnal and pretty in their natural state.

The leaves that I used for a splash of color on the white napkins are from our Bradford Pears that line the streets in our neighborhood. The color is just breathtaking; It might give you a sense of how gorgeous our streets are right now.

Time to load-up our plates! The new kitchen worked perfectly for a buffet-style celebration. I like to keep it simple. We just served straight from the pots and pans! It’s just family, right?

Even Olive made it into the picture. She looks sad about not getting any scrumptious leftovers. (I’m pretending to not know that my mom slyly filled her bowl with turkey and gravy.)

After our delicious feast, the boys made a quick getaway. This is where I found Steve:

I asked Olive if she wanted to help with the dishes. Her response was a lick on the face and a violent tail wag. To which I will conclude is her saying “If only I had opposable thumbs.”

The only thing that would’ve made this holiday more perfect is if we could’ve spent it with Steve’s family, too. We’ve spent the last two Thanksgivings with them and it made us a little sad we had to miss out this year. Between all of the texts and funny pictures we can safely assume they had as awesome of a time as we did. We’re so excited to see everyone for Christmas! Oh the joys of holiday time-shares. Someone needs to invent a way for us to teleport, immediately.

I hope everyone’s Thanksgiving weekend was filled with love and laughter, and that you remembered all you have to be thankful for.

xoxo

Tell me what you think:

