Thrift Store Mania

Since my parents are coming for Thanksgiving (STILL REALLY EXCITED) I needed to get some sort of lighting situation figured out in the guest bedroom.

My plan was to spend my moolah on new lamps for the master bedroom and then bequeath those lamps to the guest room. We had some pretty generous gift cards from the wedding, so I headed over to Target to scope things out but, sadly, came home empty handed. I just couldn’t justify spending $40 on ONE lamp–without the lampshade. That would’ve been a total of around $100ish dollars for two lamps plus lamp shades. No spank you.

I decided to meander to Goodwill on my lunch break a few days ago to see if I could find any treasures. I totally hit the jackpot.

I found these awesome brass lamps that are super-solid and tall and will be able to stand up to the hugeness of the new bed (once we order it). I got the lampshades on sale at Target for $13 a pop, so my total for two new groovy lamps came in at an impressive 42 beans. (Just so you don’t have to do the math — I paid a total of $16 for the pair — you’re welcome.) I’m still undecided if I’ll leave these naked in all their brassy glory (I love the brushed metal look of them), or if I’ll give them a coat of glossy spray paint. I’ll probably wait until we get the bed and paint the walls to make my final decision. In the meantime, I’m feeling pretty darn proud of my savings.

Another guest-room item I had been looking for–and didn’t want to spend a lot of money on–was a wall clock. It’s just one of those little touches that makes your guests feel at home. I snagged this guy for only $1.99.

I have big plans for him. I want to give his frame a colorful coat of paint, and give him a little face-lift with a new background. (I still need to figure out how to take off the hands.)

Although the lamps were my biggest deal of the day, this beautiful little glass jar was probably my favorite find.

At $2.99, this clear and functional glass container really made my day; I’m easy to please, what can I say? This little beauty also lives in the Guest Suite (That’s what I like to call our guest room / guest bathroom combo. It makes me feel fancy). I filled it with useful bathroom items that guests might need and likely didn’t pack: Q-tips, individual floss / tooth-pick combos, and face-wiping pads.

I also came home with some pretty gorgeous gold chargers (if you don’t know what chargers are, they’re fancy, decorative plates that go under regular plates). But you’ll have to wait until I snap pictures of our Thanksgiving dinner table to see those. I’m already dreaming about stuffing, mashed potatoes, and green beans.

Happy Thursday Tuesday, party people. I hope you get a few extra days off this week!

Tell me what you think:

