Headboard It Up

Until I can get around to posting post-move house pictures (say that 3x fast), I thought I’d share a tutorial of a headboard I made for our old master bedroom.

Once we bite the bullet and buy our dream bed from Crate & Barrel I’ll probably end up moving this bad boy over to the guest bedroom. Before I show you the how-to, let’s all ooooh and aaaaah over The Bed. The Atwood, to be more specific.

We toyed with the idea of DIYing a bed, using this one as inspiration, but didn’t think we could find the quality of wood we wanted for the price of the bed. It’s not 100% decided yet but we’re thinking this will be our Christmakah present to each other. More on that later.

On to the tutorial:

First of all, I suggest asking a very handsome man to make you a wooden frame. Make it as wide as your bed, and however tall you’d like for it to be. Once you have your frame it’s time to get a-staplin’. I bought medium weight quilt batting, and cut it a few inches larger than the frame.

I recommend stapling at twelve, three, six, and nine o’clock to make sure you don’t get everything on there all wonky. (You do not, however, need to curl up into a little human ball like I do.)

Once you have those initial staples in place, and everything looks straight, go to town with that staple gun. I’m not sure why marriage isn’t legal between woman and staple gun. That’s how much I love mine.

Once your batting is secured to the frame, repeat this whole process (MORE STAPLES!) with the decorative fabric you’re using. I used an old comforter from Anthropologie that Olive rendered unusable due to claw marks. I luckily found a small section without tears that was a perfect size for this project.

And Voila! It really is that easy.

Our bedroom looks nothing like this anymore. So I suppose I’ll just have to take some pictures and finally get them up here.

Happy headboarding, and happy Thursday!

42 thoughts on “Headboard It Up

  1. Pingback: Fancy Schmancy Cornice | The Harpster Home

  2. Pingback: Only the Best for Our Guests. | The Harpster Home

  3. Pingback: Upholstering, Shmapholstering. | The Harpster Home

    • Thanks Greta! I will have to ask my mom. They are yet another find from her basement. Too bad she can’t open up for the public! I will ask her where she found them.

      • I did! I keep meaning to reply on here… my mom said she got them at Hobby Lobby years ago. They don’t still have the exact same thing, but she said she actually did see similar ones there recently. Hope that helps!

      • I’ve got the exact same candle holders from Kirklands as well. Love them. Cute headboard. I’ve been looking for a tutorial just like this. thanks!

    • It was really easy. We just treated it like a picture frame. We put two screws in the wall, evenly spaced (with drywall anchors), and then simply hung the frame on the screws like you would hang a picture. It worked like a charm.

  4. this is so cute! I just have a question. I’m new to this whole DIY and I wasn’t sure of what size/what kind of wood you used. sorry if that sounds dumb! 🙂

    • It’s definitely not dumb! We just used regular ole Pine 1″ x 2″ boards from Lowes. They’re inexpensive and lightweight which is perfect for this project. Hope that helps! Good luck.

  5. Pingback: Cabecera de cama – Hazlo tú | Mamá en Terapia

  6. Pingback: future projects. « ciao mama

  7. I think this is absolutely amazing! I’ve been looking for a nice headboard but they’re all so expensive so I’m going to give this a try 🙂

  8. Would you consider selling those sconces!!! I have been looking EVERY where to replace mine that the movers broke when we were transferring from one military base to another..nothing has looked right/matches then those dear sconces…sigh..

  9. Wonderful!! definitely trying this weekend! One question though, did you keep it hallow? I don’t know about you, but I basically live on my bed and I wonder if because it is hallow it will make it difficult to lean back on?

  10. My head board is exactly like this, but i want this exact blanket to put on it. Any ideas on how i can get that close to it?

  11. I LOVE the fabric choice! I’ve made one of these, but used an entire sheet of plywood and just set it on the floor. The frame is a great idea and a much lighter, less expensive choice!

  12. Pingback: d.i.y. fabric tassel garland « ciao mama

  13. Great idea and your headboard looks beautiful! You did a really great job! Unfortunately, I really need to figure out how to make a headboard that will attach to the bed, so that when I’m sitting up in bed (reading, working, watching tv, etc.) the bed doesn’t gradually slide away from the wall/headboard. That always seems to happen and I lose my pillows and it just really irks me. (I have tried taking the wheels off the bed-frame, adding rubber stoppers, etc.) I love that Crate and Barrel bed, though I’m never quite sure about platform beds – are they comfortable without a boxspring? It also seems like it might be difficult to make a bed with a footboard, especially on a platform – would there be enough room to tuck in a duvet? It seems telling that they show it without bedding. (Okay, I know I’m ridiculously picky – however, I’m in my 30’s and haven’t had a real bed since my childhood bunk bed, so I have been dreaming about this for a while).

    The main reason I felt compelled to comment here is although those lanterns look really cool (I see that a lot of people here are coveting them!) I hope that you don’t live anywhere that might experience an earthquake (or violent weather)! I hate to think of you sleeping under those…. Luckily your house looks very solid, and the photo of your “little girl” in your About page appears as though it might be in the Midwest (? I could be way off on that!). In general, people should be careful about what they hang over their beds, though and since this is such an inspiring and popular page I hope that anyone reading this keeps that in mind.

    Best of luck to you – I look forward to reading more of your posts!

  14. Can I just say what a comfort to uncover an individual who genuinely understands what
    they are discussing on the web. You definitely realize how
    to bring an issue to light and make it important.
    A lot more people should check this out and understand this side of the
    story. I was surprised you’re not more popular since you most certainly possess the gift.

  15. We are a group of volunteers and starting a new scheme in our community.
    Your web site provided us with valuable information to work on.
    You have done an impressive job and our entire community will be thankful to you.

  16. Pingback: I’m Lookin’ at You, Guest Room | The Harpster Home

  17. Pingback: 10 Wonderful DIY Headboards

  18. Pingback: 25 Inexpensive DIY Headboard Ideas

Tell me what you think:

