The Great Paint Debate

To paint, or not to paint. That is the question.

I know we are lucky to have gorgeous custom cabinets in our kitchen. The woodwork is beautiful, and the solidity of the doors feels fancy and expensive. This is why I’m having such a hard time deciding whether or not to paint them all white. Unfortunately, with beautiful oak cabinets you get a very heavy, woodsy look. Sometimes I mistakenly think I’m in a log cabin in the woods. This can be a good thing if you’re in Far Far Away, and you have forest creatures helping you bake a pie for your seven dwarf roommates. This is not such a good thing if you’re standing in your own kitchen.

I did a rough Photoshop mock-up – because that’s what I do – so we could get a sense of what the cabinets would look like white:

The white cabinets just look So. Much. Better. They are light and bright, and full of sunbeams and rainbows. I made the counters dark, for contrast, and I am loving the look of it. *Added bonus that the stove top and dishwasher blend in.

We have all-natural wood trim throughout the entire house, and I know it’s not trendy right now but I do love the warmth of it. So, I wondered if painting the cabinets white would be a conflict with the oak trim. I’m leaning toward “no”, but I’m still not 100% sold.

The fact we’re still sitting on the fence might have something to do with knowing how much work this project will take. But the beauty is, I know it would be worth it in the end. Anyone have any opinions? I know you do.

6 thoughts on “The Great Paint Debate

  1. I LOVE, LOVE, LOVE them white ! Such a great contrast to the wood floors and it just looks so clean. I’ve been thinking about doing the same. Next time you’re home, can you take a picture of our kitchen and show me what it would look like?

    XOXOXOOXOXOX

  2. OK, so forget what I said about the great contrast to the wood floors. I realize after looking at the picture again that it’s tile. As good as the white looks, I’m not sure it goes well with the tile color.

    XOXOXOXOXOX
    Mom

  3. No way, those look FAR BETTER white. When we moved into our new place, we had those wood grain cabinets, and I took one look at them and decided they needed painted. The space looks 10x better. The walls we did one accent wall orange, and the main wall a turquoise blue. If you’re planning on painting the kitchen – I’d suggest white cabinets any day. Really stands out!

Tell me what you think:

