Bunting Banner Bonanza

Boo!

Which is just me saying hello and trying to carry on the alliteration from the title. “B” is a hard letter to stick to.

Today’s post is all about how to make your very own bunting banner!

Much to Steve’s curiosity, I brought home a pile of smelly, wrinkled, vintage handkerchiefs from the local antique shop. After hand-washing them (some of them are super delicate) and laying them out to dry, that distinct Antique Shop Smell was gone and they were ready for pressing.

That was my little station. Iron, fold, iron, set aside. And I did that about 20-some-odd times. And yes, Olive sat there in the background for the length of this project, just begging me to throw the ball. If she was ever going to learn to speak English her first and only four words would most definitely be THROW THE BALL, WOMAN. Either that or I JUST ATE MY OWN VOMIT, FYI.

Once all of the fabric squares were magically turned into magic triangles, I placed them on the floor so I could play around with the arrangement. I’m always working on the floor around here. I highly recommend it — aside from being covered head-to-toe in dog hair once finished.

To secure these triangles all together I used a very inexpensive and simple method: Bias Tape.

It’s basically a pre-cut, straight piece of fabric. You could probably make this yourself but I was all about the time-savings bonus of using it. And it was like a dollar. Maybe two.

All I had to do to prep was iron it in half. Hot dog style. (You totally read that doggy-style, didn’t you? You dirty bird. I’m onto you.)

You can see where I’m going with this, can’t you? Now there’s a nice little pocket for the triangle edges to fit inside.

After I sandwiched the fabric inside the bias tape all that was left was pinning these puppies in place.

And I’m not kidding, if you can sew a straight line you can do this project. If you can sew a sometimes-straight-sometimes-it-has-a-little-curve line you can STILL do this project. And even if you don’t have a sewing machine you could sew this by hand.

All you do is run a stitch down the length of bias tape and you’re done! It’s seriously that easy.

This is going in the nursery — DOY — but I’m not going to show it hanging in there, yet. I want to do a grand reveal for the nursery, which is going to be much more dramatic in my head than in reality — I realize this. Until then, you’ll just have to pretend this bunting banner looks good in random locations around our home.

Isn’t it charming? It’s right up there with Ryan Gosling.

And in true Harpster fashion, we have to test all new DIY ventures on Olive. She’s our guinea pig. A mighty fine looking guinea pig if I dosaysomyself.

She looks like an adorable, little, Jewish grandmother. She’s seconds away from serving us chicken soup and screaming EAT! EAT! in our faces. I can almost hear the Yiddish curse words rolling around inside of her brain.

Thanks for being a good sport, Olive. Can’t you guys get a better sense for the final product after seeing it modeled by our canine superstar? I thought so. It’s all for the blog. It’s all for you people.

TGIF! I’m so looking forward to sleeping in tomorrow morning and enjoying the added layers of covers on our bed. Welcome Fall! Have a great weekend, everyone!

7 thoughts on “Bunting Banner Bonanza

  1. I just LOVE reading your posts. They always make me smile. Being a Dog-Mom myself, I totally love Olive (and what she allows to be done to her). Our American Bulldog was Mary for Christmas last year. She had the same expression in her pics as Olive does above. Thank you for the awesome bunting idea (I have a boatload of old hankies that were handed down to me), but more importantly, for brightening my day!

  2. All blogs should have gratuitous dog or cat pictures. I’m glad that you didn’t cut the handkerchiefs up. So often, vintage or even antique items are ruined when they are remade. This way you can use them again or sell them later.

  3. Thank you for the fabulous idea! I’ve had a whole stack of vintage handkerchiefs I’ve been lugging around from NJ to NY to CT to OH and back to NY. Now I know what to do with them :0)

    I love your blog! Happy Weekend!

  4. I love it when you take close-ups of your projects. And your little asides are a hoot.
    As always, Olive is charming in her mysterious ways; you bring a smile to my face.

  5. Pingback: A Crib Skirt (Or Something Like it) | The Harpster Home

  6. Pingback: The Baby Girl’s Nursery (with Source List) | The Harpster Home

Tell me what you think:

