First World Frustrations

Who knew picking out paint colors was so vexing. This was my night last night:
(The sewing machine has no relation to the story.)

The water-glass is slightly misleading as one would presume I wasn’t chugging wine in hopes of it becoming liquid courage. The color swatches made me do it. They forced me to drink with their baffling undertones and inconsistencies.

About five minutes after this picture was taken I felt like doing that move you see in the movies where in a fit of rage the main character makes a sweeping move with their arm across the desk, demolishing everything in its path. Fortunately I had the foresight to know that I didn’t want to have to clean up after a rage-filled explosion, so I chose to calmly walk away.

I must admit that I’m making myself sound like I handled this frustrating situation in a much more mature manner (alliteration For The Win) than I actually did. Yes, I calmly walked away, but then I promptly picked up the phone to call my mom.

Mom & Dad to the rescue! They’re coming for a night next week to help me sort out my color issues. Well, Mom is going to help me. Dad will probably sit there and look at us like we’re nuts, while tossing out encouraging words of advice.

The reason for all this frustration is simply not knowing what color to paint my ENTIRE house. It’s going to cost us $$$$ and I want to make sure that we’re going to love all of the colors on the wall when all is said and done.

Last night I went to the paint store to get some samples of colors I was pretty positive I loved. But sure enough, I slapped those greys on the wall and almost barfed all over them. They were nothing like I had pictured.

The grays were chalky and too light and then too dark and just oh-so-wrong.

The yellow is actually a color that may work out in little chunks here or there. We’ll just have to wait and see. You can see here how they go with my rug:

The moral of this story is: BUY SAMPLES. No matter how much money you spend on samples, you’ll be glad you did it. I should just be grateful that I didn’t have the painters paint the entire house with that corpse-skin gray. One point for the good guys.

Hopefully I’ll get this resolved soon. Since I’m an over sharer, rest assured that I will keep you updated. In the meantime, enjoy not being overcome with pressure to pick out paint colors, and have a terrific Thursday.

One thought on “First World Frustrations

  1. “Dad will probably sit there and look at us like we’re nuts”…TRUE…”while tossing out encouraging words of advice”…ALSO TRUE…hahaha

Tell me what you think:

