Harpster minus the “st”

Harper. Charley Harper to be exact. Although he is not a new artist (he lived from 1922 – 2007) he is new to me, and I’m officially obsessed.

I first noticed some of his original pieces hanging at Midland but for some reason never paid much attention to them; there is just so much to look at when you’re there. It’s now turned into one of my favorite places to spend my time.

He grew up on a farm in West Virginia and was clearly inspired by nature. What’s so interesting is how methodical, and architectural his prints are. He calls it “minimal realism.” His work feels modern and clean, while retaining a certain softness because of subject matter. I’m smitten, obviously.

When I look at a wildlife or nature subject, I don’t see the feathers in the wings, I just count the wings. I see exciting shapes, color combinations, patterns, textures, fascinating behavior and endless possibilities for making interesting pictures. I regard the picture as an ecosystem in which all the elements are interrelated, interdependent, perfectly balanced, without trimming or unutilized parts; and herein lies the lure of painting; in a world of chaos, the picture is one small rectangle in which the artist can create an ordered universe.

Sold. Done. I want all of your work. Now.


The symmetry in this is phenomenal. I love everything about it.


I am obsessed with this one. Dare I say it’s my favorite?

Ah hell, why pick a favorite… can’t I just have them all?

2 thoughts on “Harpster minus the “st”

  1. Pingback: The Harpster Home

Tell me what you think:

